1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TC 20 Beta

Discussion in 'Support' started by JohnQSmith, Jul 19, 2016.

  1. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    Before I download and try, any word on whether it will install for "current user"? I've been wanting to upgrade from 17 to both 18 and 19 and now 20, but if I can't install it as "current user" (at work where I would use it), then I can't justify the purchase.

    I already have an answer waiting in case you tell me that 16, 17, 18, and 19 already allow that.
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    I'm not sure I understand what you're after -- the installer doesn't distinguish between current user & all users. Are you referring to the elevated (admin) requirement (only necessary if you want to install Everything Search as a service), or something else?
     
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,955
    Likes Received:
    30
    You get a UAC prompt right at the beginning of an install. Can you say no and get an install anyway? Isn't elevation also needed to make firewall rules?
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    The UAC prompt doesn't have anything to do with current user / all users.

    The TCMD installer is "Per-machine if user is administrator, per-user otherwise". (This is a Windows Installer setting, not something that TCMD is implementing.)
     
    #4 rconn, Jul 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2016
  5. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    Here's where my spoiler from above comes in. When trying to install as myself (without admin rights) the installer performs the complete installation and then at the end tries to write something into an All Users area and fails with a privileges error and then rolls back the entire installation. I can run an install and post the install log if that helps.
     
  6. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ran the installation with 20. Same thing. I have screen captures of all dialog boxes prior to clicking Next/Install/Ok/Finish and the install log file. Where do you want to email them? support@jpsoft.com?

    Edit: Sent to above email address at 11:20 CDT.
     
    #6 JohnQSmith, Jul 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2016
  7. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,860
    Likes Received:
    83
    Try running beta build 9, which doesn't write anything to HKLM or All Users.
     

Share This Page