1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TCC Startup Error

Discussion in 'Support' started by bwood, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. bwood

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just installed Take Command 12.11. Getting an error on startup 0xc0000005.

    Reviewed for any apps/services that may be problematic. The only item I would maybe suspect is Acronis True Image 2012. Anti Virus disable was no help.

    Tried MS Process Exp. The only odd handle I could see was Acronis.

    Sys Info:

    WIN7 ULT X64 i7 970 12GB RAM

    Any ideas? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,856
    Likes Received:
    83
    If the crash is in TCMD, you'll have a TCMD.GPF file which has a stack trace
    and register details. (It's usually in the same location as your TCMD.INI
    file, which varies depending on the version of Windows and your startup
    options.)

    Is this an upgrade or new installation? Are you running any plugins?
     
  3. bwood

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the fast response.

    The ini dir is "C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\JPSoft". No crash file only the ini file.

    Fresh install via upgrade license and no plugins. The program won't start.

    Thanks.
     
  4. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304
    Likes Received:
    39
    Have you tried it in Safe Mode?
     
  5. bwood

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried now. Same result.
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,856
    Likes Received:
    83
    only

    Then it's unlikely that the crash is actually in TCMD.EXE. Are you trying
    to start from a shortcut, Explorer, or the command line? Can you run
    TCC.EXE and IDE.EXE?

    Are you starting with a fresh TCMD.INI or importing one from a previous
    version?
     
  7. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304
    Likes Received:
    39
    Then I don't understand. Perhaps TCMD.EXE or TCC.EXE is corrupted -- I'd try uninstalling, deleting the program directory and registry keys, rebooting, and reinstalling. But this is pure guesswork....
     
  8. bwood

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK. Tried starting via desktop, start menu shortcuts created during install. Failed. Same result if I attempt to start via double clicking the EXEs tcc or tcmd. However, IDE.exe is just fine. It starts.

    The INI is the freshly installed one.

    This is a fresh "upgrade" install. Is it looking for a previous version that is not there?

    Otherwise would it be possible for you to suggest what I need to look for say via Process Explorer?

    Thanks for all the help.
     
  9. bwood

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Additional note: I just noticed that the INI file installed during setup is a zero byte file. It's empty.

    Is this normal?
     
  10. bwood

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Issue resolved. Thanks for the help.

    The system had a Theme installed that replaced/MOD certain key windows files. Removed the theme and Take Command runs fine.
     
  11. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,856
    Likes Received:
    83
    is a

    TCMD doesn't install an .INI file (this is deliberate, to avoid overwriting
    an existing one when upgrading). TCMD will create one when it needs to save
    any configuration changes.
     
  12. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,856
    Likes Received:
    83
    Glad you got it working.

    I'd like to know the theme & developer, so I can contact them about fixing it, and add it to our list of problem apps. (Screen managers are particularly troublesome, though they're thankfully becoming less common.)
     
  13. bwood

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.xptsp.com/fixit/7tsp.php
     

Share This Page