1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TCCLE and Windows XP

Discussion in 'TCC/LE Support' started by Stefano Piccardi, Apr 29, 2013.

  1. Stefano Piccardi

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've come across a particular Windows XP Pro SP3 installation where the latest version of TCCLE gives trouble. When I double-click the TCCLE icon I can see a console window starting and quickly closing. It's too quick to see if an error message is being shown. I can't find any trace of TCCLE having started or crashed. Thsi Windows XP looks otherwise normal and plain to me. TCCLE should work. Has anyone seen something like this before? Can you suggest troubleshooting strategies?
    For a start I'm going to monitor the JPSoft registry keys and sift through JPSoft files in %USERPROFILE%. I have already reinstalled TCCLE and checked the traditional culprits, like TCSTART.btm, etc. TIA
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    80
    Start a CMD.EXE session and run TCC from that window (so that you can see any error messages when it exits).
     
  3. Stefano Piccardi

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    2
    I did, but there's no error message at all. It's as if tcc.exe was determined to start and exit immediately without doing anything. If in CMD I type tcc.exe /c ver /r I can briefly see the whole command string being appended to the title in the title bar then I get CMD's prompt back and no output from ver /r.
     
  4. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    Try (in CMD)
    tcc.exe /k ver /r,
    or even
    START tcc.exe /k ver /r
     
  5. Stefano Piccardi

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    2
    Steve, I tried several start combinations but none helped.
    Then I downgraded from TCCLE 13.6.76 to 13.5.66 and the latter works just fine.
    So between those two versions something was added to TCCLE that keeps it from starting on this PC.
    I'm going to try downgrading TakeCommand (full product) on this PC until I can find a version that works. I'll post my findings on the other thread http://jpsoft.com/forums/threads/can-start-takecommand-15-01-on-windows-xp.4965
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    80
    I put test builds (13.06.77) on the ftp site at:

    ftp.jpsoft.com/beta/tccle.exe
    ftp.jpsoft.com/beta/tcclex64.exe

    Try downloading build 77 and let me know if that works on your problem system.
     
  7. Stefano Piccardi

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    2
    It works perfectly. Thanks!
     

Share This Page