1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to? tcl support

Discussion in 'Support' started by fpefpe, Aug 15, 2016.

  1. fpefpe

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello -- the help for tcl supports says that it looks for active state tcl version 8.5.7 -- is tcmd looking for this specific version of tcl / dll to load? -- what would the dll name be in this case? Thanks
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,806
    Likes Received:
    82
    TCC is linking to the tcl86.lib which looks for tcl86.dll.
     
  3. fpefpe

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello -- thx for the info ... is this true for v20 ( looking for tcl86.dll)? It seems that v18 ( an v16 running on xp) found tcl85.dll ) -- I guess as the doc for these versions note version 8.5.7 -- were "7" is the patch level
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,806
    Likes Received:
    82
    V20 looks for tcl86.dll. V19 / 18 are looking for tcl85.dll. (I really hate developers that put version numbers in their dll names ...)
     
  5. fpefpe

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    1
    HA ... I understand ... I somewhat recall from my days with unix that this was sort of a common practice and used symbolic links and a base name, so in windows would that work?
    so in the same directory as tcc.exe there was a link created with

    mklink /d tcl.dll tcl86.dll

    would that work?
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,806
    Likes Received:
    82
    I don't know -- it would be a Windows internals issue. I wouldn't count on it.
     
  7. w_krieger

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you do something like 4DOS did with rexx, by setting the tcldll= in the INI file.
     
  8. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,806
    Likes Received:
    82
    I could, but it would require several hundred lines of new code to dynamically load all of the Tcl functions.
     
  9. fpefpe

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    1
    As Rex noted it is a pain in the neck when the dll’s are tagged with a version number .... Since V18/V19 of take are using the 8.5 (tcl) it is problematic since Activestate has posted the 8.6 community (free) version and does not make older version available without a business licence and there is a fee for such a license –

    Since this seems to be a activestate policy, would it be possible or make sense have copies of these activestate products that are used by versions of TAKE on the jpsoft website for download since those specific version might not be available at active state?
     

Share This Page