1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tcmd.exe/tcc.exe appcrash on exit

Discussion in 'Support' started by jalong, Apr 12, 2009.

  1. jalong

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    VER: TCC 10.00.65 Windows Vista [Version 6.0.6001] x64 / 8 GB RAM


    Hi! When I exit TC 10 I get the following Windows error messages. Also, the processes don't terminate. Any ideas?

    1. TAKE COMMAND HAS STOPPED WORKING
    > Restart the Program

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: tcmd.exe
    Application Version: 10.0.0.65
    Application Timestamp: 49dab031
    Fault Module Name: StackHash_592e
    Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 0312811d
    OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: 592e
    Additional Information 2: 8c817e9abcd1a872d5d0bfa9be456baa
    Additional Information 3: e80c
    Additional Information 4: 7c66d0b11af2f35cfb178beaa9a2742a

    2. TCC HAS STOPPED WORKING
    > Restart the Program

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: TCC.EXE
    Application Version: 10.0.0.65
    Application Timestamp: 49dab05c
    Fault Module Name: StackHash_0620
    Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 0339c046
    OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1033
    Additional Information 1: 0620
    Additional Information 2: 66ff02e0377fa6bbee051e50e148e2e6
    Additional Information 3: a739
    Additional Information 4: 92f6ad2f11062783db26d888a5b80873

    Regards,
    John
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    jalong wrote:

    "StackHash_xxx" doesn't have anything to do with TCMD or TCC. There are
    a lot of Google matches for it, though at a quick glance nobody seems to
    be sure where it comes from or how to fix it.

    One thing to try is to check your DEP settings, and if they're enabled
    for all apps try turning it off for TCMD / TCC.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  3. jalong

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply.

    The issue was AVG Free 8.5. AVG had been detecting tcmd.exe as a false positive. So I had added \jpsoft\tcmd10 to the exclusions but that obviously wasn't enough. TCMD worked fine once AVG was completely removed.

    Now to find another AV program...

    Regards,
    John
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    jalong wrote:

    I've had good luck with Avast and with Rising Antivirus.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is a bit offtopic, but just consider one of the latest antivirus comparison tests here. There are several programs that detect more than 99% of the test samples (which is extremely high), such as Avira AntiVir and G-Data AntiVirus.

    However, these programs do not get the highest "awards" in this test; they are just considered 'advanced', while a number of other scanners (e.g. NOD32, Symantec) get the rating 'advanced+'. The lower rating for the former programs is solely because of the many false positives.

    It looks like the paid-for scanners (e.g. Symantec, NOD32, McAfee) have the least false positives.

    In this report, you will also see that AVG gets the rather low 'standard' rating, which is because of:
    • A low detection rate, just 93%
    • Slow on-demand scanning speed
    • And last but not least, 'many' false positives

    In short, please avoid AVG. :)
     

Share This Page