1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Text selection in Take Command tab window

Discussion in 'Support' started by Charles Dye, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,374
    Likes Received:
    40
    I seem to have lost the ability to select text in a TC tab window with shift-left, shift-right, shift-end, and so on. I'm only seeing this in Take Command; it works fine in a standalone console window.

    Anybody else seeing this?
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,129
    Likes Received:
    33
    I see it too. In addition, if I Shift-Right/Left, the cursor over-shoots its mark, unlike simply Right/Left. V12 has this overshoot, too (but does select text).
     
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,129
    Likes Received:
    33
    I should have added ... the cursor over-shooting (not stopping on KEY_UP) happens only in TCMD, not in a TCC console.
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,129
    Likes Received:
    33
    With build 46, it now selects, but the selecting doesn't stop immediately when the key is let up (Shift-Left/Right).
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,091
    Likes Received:
    85
    Not reproducible here (tried on four systems).

    I'm 99.9% sure this is a configuration issue with your keyboard (repeat rate set too fast, so the keyboard buffer is filling up?).
     
  6. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,129
    Likes Received:
    33
    It's at about 30 characters per second and it doesn't misbehave in any other program. If I hold down Shift-Left and lift the Left key after about 90 characters have been selected, it continues to select about another 80 characters. As I said earlier, it works perfectly with plain Left/Right but not with Shift-Left/Right. Shift-Up/Down stops instantly when I lift the key.
     
  7. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,091
    Likes Received:
    85


    Which is exactly what it will do if you've filled your keyboard buffer with more characters while TCC is processing the previous characters. 30 cps is waaaay too much if you're planning on holding the key down for any length of time > .1 second (and then guessing when to release it).



    That's hardly surprising; Shift-Left / Shift-Right do about 100x as much in code as Left/Right, and there is a lot of interprocess communication between TCC and TCMD (in order to update the tab window and notify TCMD of the selection). Are any of your other programs doing block marking with Shift-Left / Shift-Right -- and while transmitting all those updates to another application?

    The only thing I could do to fix your system would be (1) get you a faster cpu; (2) get you a faster video card, or (3) disable your keyboard buffer.
     
  8. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,129
    Likes Received:
    33
    Well, I don't really care. I only fire up TCMD to test things. But it's an ugly artifact and I can't believe I'm the only one affected by it.
     
  9. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    1
    I see it, too. I rarely select that way, so I can live with it.
     
  10. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,374
    Likes Received:
    40
    Working as expected in build 46. Thank you, Rex.

    I do see some slight 'overshoot' as Vincent describes. I don't consider it either surprising (this is a netbook, Atom N450 processor) nor a problem -- for selecting large runs, I never hold down Shift-Left or Shift-Right; I select words using the Control key, or else select to the end of the line with Shift-End or Shift-Home. (Nor do I generally run Take Command on this small-screened machine!) If older builds behaved the same way, it was never important enough to rise to my conscious attention.
     
  11. Avi Shmidman

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    3
    I reproduce this problem. In TCC, the shift-arrows select text on my command line as expected, but in the TC tabbed environment, shift-left and shift-right just act as the left and right arrows, moving the cursor without selecting anything. I'm running an intel core i7 (with only 0-5% CPU load while I tried the shift-arrows) so I don't think it's a matter of a slow CPU. Windows 7 x64. Is there any sort of debugging setting that I can turn on to provide you with more details?
    By the way, I notice that shift-up, shift-down, shift-pgup, and shift-pgdown don't work to select rows or pages of text, even in TCC. Is this by design? (PowerCmd supports this, and I often use it in other apps, too, like MS Word).
     
  12. Avi Shmidman

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ah, sorry, I didn't see that build 46 was available. I have just installed it and the shift-right and shift-left problem has been fixed. Thank you Rex! (And thanks, also, for the the UTF8 TCMD.ini option. It works great!)
    Still wondering though about the shift-up, shift-down, shift-pgup, and shift-pgdown - are these not implemented by design, or would it be worth suggesting it as a feature request?
     
  13. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    11
    The overshoot issue has been there for a long time. It's not new to build 46. It's a nuisance and I get bit by it every once in a while. I mostly select text using the mouse, but sometimes it's easier using the keyboard. FWIW - TCMD is the only product I've ever used that has this issue. I find it hard to believe that on a modern PC operating over 2000 MHz that the software can't keep up with 30 cps.
     
  14. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,091
    Likes Received:
    85
    Better learn to believe it -- Windows IPC is not fast.

    You probably don't have a lot of other applications that have to talk to another app in order to move the mouse & highlight text.

    But for the next build, I've adoped the #3 solution in my previous message to Vince -- every time TCC processes a Shift-Left or Shift-Right key, it will flush the keyboard buffer. That should solve the problem for users who like to lean on their keyboards for extended periods.
     

Share This Page