1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

News Thread Prefixes

Discussion in 'Support' started by rconn, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    If you're creating a new thread or viewing a forum, you'll notice a new feature called Thread Prefixes.

    A thread prefix is an optional tag displayed before the thread title to help categorize the post. For example, you can now set the thread prefix to "Bug" or "How to?", and moderators can (re)set the prefix to "Fixed" or "WAD".

    We'll be adding some more prefixes soon; if you have any requests please let us know.
     
  2. mfarah

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok, but... how can we do a prefix tag?
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    To use one, when you create a new message move the mouse to the left side of the title box (where it says "No Prefix"), and select it from the dropdown menu.
     
  4. mfarah

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    5
    I can't find the "no prefix" text anywhere. Perhaps it's a matter of permissions?
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    Click on "Support", then click on "Post New Thread". It'll be on the left side of the title field.
     
  6. mfarah

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    5
    Oh, ok. I was trying it out in the open forum, which doesn't have them (that's WAD, right?).
     
  7. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    WAD. Since the open forum has no theme, topics, and isn't monitored by JP Software, trying to come up with a useful set of prefixes would probably be pointless.
     
  8. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    How do we go about changing a thread prefix? (I seem to remember a "Thread Tools" link, but I can't find it any more; permissions change?)

    Should there be a "WAD" tag available?
     
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    Only administrators & moderators can change the prefix of an existing thread. There is a "Thread Tools" link on the upper right side of the thread header that is visible if you have admin or moderator privileges.

    There already is a WAD tag (only available to administrators & moderators).
     
  10. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    Ah -- I see it now. Thanks.
     

Share This Page