1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Timeout during Registration

Discussion in 'Support' started by Ulrich, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. Ulrich

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I have been running TCMD12 for quite some time on my computer at work. Since the admins made the last major update, I noticed that it fell back to status "trial version". Now when I try to re-register, I enter my User Name and the Take Command Key, but the only thing that I get after pressing OK is a 20 seconds wait, and then a pop-up: Registration Error [10060] Connection timed out Is there anything I can do from my side, or do I need to ask our admins to do something? If the latter, it sure would be helpful to know what they need to change/enable/allow. Thanks for all pointers Ulrich
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    If you've updated to 12.11 from 12.0, you need to use the 12.1 key we sent to all the registered 12.0 users.

    If you're using a 12.1 key and it's timing out, you probably have an HTTP proxy server that is blocking TCMD from reaching the registration server. If you have a username/password for the proxy, you can go to OPTION / Internet and enter your info. Then try the registration again.

    If you didn't get your 12.1 key, let me know and I'll resend it.
     
  3. Ulrich

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I forgot all about the new key. I tried it now, it does not change anything, still get a timeout.

    Also I can not go to OPTION / Internet, because now the 30 days are expired, and I can choose between "Buy now" (gets me the web page), "Register" (gives a timeout), or "Exit" (which unsurprisingly exits).

    On top of that, I have never needed a username/password for our proxy, so I would not know what to enter.

    Well, it looks like I have to talk to our proxy admins.

    Thanks anyway, at least now I know where the problem is.

    Ulrich
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    anything, still

    expired,

    Let me know if your admins can't get you configured, and I'll send you a
    manual key that doesn't need an HTTP connection. (The manual key isn't
    normally preferred because you cannot autoupdate, and you'll need to get a
    new key for every new TCMD build.)

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. Ulrich

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, it looks like this is exactly what I need. I was informed that they will not remove the block, it is not a bug, it is a feature.

    Thanks

    Ulrich
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    I've emailed you the manual key.
     
  7. Ulrich

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, I have received it.

    Ulrich
     
  8. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi,

    I finally convinced my boss to buy 5 licenses for TC :-)

    I received the key today, but at the first try the registration did not work (timeout). So I assume it's the proxy.
    What address should the proxy-admins un-block to get the registration process work (http://....)?
    Is the connection required only for the first time or will the key be checked at every TC-start?

    thanks in advance
    frank
     
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    http://quicklicensemanager.com/jpsoft/


    checked at

    Only for the initial registration.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  10. sathyam

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having similar issues. I get a timeout when I try to register TCMD.

    Could you send me an emailkey too?

    Sathyam
     
  11. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thank you for the quick reply, Rex.

    I will beg my colleagues to un-block the url permanently.
    Because as far as I read in the forum, the key is checked again at every update.

    frank
     
  12. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    The best approach is to enter the proxy info in TCC / OPTION / Internet. If
    you can't do that, send your registered name & activation key info to
    support@jpsoft.com and we'll email you a manual key. (The manual key cannot
    autoupdate, so you'll need to get a new key for every version.)

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  13. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    For major updates, not minor updates.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  14. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    hello again,

    I succeeded in registering today.
    But I still have a question:
    The registration is stored under hkey_current_user, not under hkey_local_machine as I expected.
    This could be a problem for us, because we are used to login with our "natural" accounts and start an additional tc-session with "run as administrator".
    Then it says something about "evaluation period"...
     
  15. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    Windows 7, Vista, and 2008 don't allow apps to write to HKLM unless they are started elevated, which means that apps and installers are effectively barred from HKLM and must use HKCU.

    I don't know what you're referring to here.
     
  16. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sorry, I didn't consider UAC ;-)


    when I start TC under my normal account, it says it is registered.
    But if I start an additional TC with "run as administrator" it says

    Code:
    TCC  12.11.73   Windows 2008R2 [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright 2011  Rex Conn & JP Software Inc.  All Rights Reserved
    Your evaluation period expires in 30 days.
    You can buy Take Command at http://jpsoft.com
    I ordered 5 licenses but if I have to register on each pc twice, it will eat up my licenses ;-)
    Sorry for my clumsy english.

    Frank
     
  17. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    You just need to enter the activation key again in the elevated TC session,
    so it will be registered in the admin account.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  18. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    ok. Thank you.

    Frank
     

Share This Page