1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TPIPE and word to text conversion

Discussion in 'Support' started by Stefano Piccardi, Aug 1, 2012.

  1. Stefano Piccardi

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    2
    The August 2012 JPSoft newsletter states
    but when I try TPIPE /input=file.doc /output=file.txt /simple=59 on a PC where Microsoft Word is not installed I get an error message
    which makes me think that it's Word and not TPIPE that is able to convert .doc input to text. I think the newsletter enthusiastically overstated this particular capability of TPIPE's.
     
  2. JohnQSmith

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    8
    I didn't know there was a newsletter.

    Found the sign up on the front page. I'm now a newsletter recipient. :)
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    80
    TPIPE (like everybody else) uses the COM interface in Word to get the data. I don't think this is an unreasonable statement of capability (nor do I think that too many people are going to want to extract Word or Excel files when they don't have Word or Excel).
     
  4. Rodolfo

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do You know if the free Word Viewer can be used for this task?

    Thank You and regards

    Rodolfo Giovanninetti
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    80
    I have no idea; I don't have it here to try. But I doubt that Microsoft would want to expose too much functionality in the free viewer.
     

Share This Page