1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TPIPE questions....

Discussion in 'Support' started by Charles G, Oct 7, 2013.

  1. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is TPIPE columns 1 or 0 based?

    /dup=Type,MatchCase,StartColumn,Length,IncludeOne

    For the length number - would it be the same as %_LINES_MAXLEN after a %@lines[filename] is done?

    For the "IncludeOne - Include lines with a count of 1" - not sure what is meant here?

    I did read the CHM but I am still a bit unsure....
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,076
    Likes Received:
    30
    When you use "Type" = 1 (Show duplicate lines), the last option determines whether you see lines with count of 1 (i.e., lines with no duplicates).
    Code:
    v:\> type abc.txt
    a
    a
    b
    c
    c
    c
    
    v:\> tpipe /input=abc.txt /dup=1,0,0,1,0
    2 a
    3 c
    
    v:\> tpipe /input=abc.txt /dup=1,0,0,1,1
    2 a
    1 b
    3 c
    All I can gather from below is that the column numbering starts with 1 but 0 is accepted as equivalent to 1. That's odd. Maybe Rex will explain it further.
    Code:
    v:\> type abc.txt
    qaa
    rba
    sca
    
    v:\> tpipe /input=abc.txt /dup=1,0,0,1,1
    1 qaa
    1 rba
    1 sca
    
    v:\> tpipe /input=abc.txt /dup=1,0,1,1,1
    1 qaa
    1 rba
    1 sca
    
    v:\> tpipe /input=abc.txt /dup=1,0,2,1,1
    1 qaa
    1 rba
    1 sca
    
    v:\> tpipe /input=abc.txt /dup=1,0,3,1,1
    3 qaa
    
    v:\>
     
  3. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    tpipe /input=tcmd.all /dup=0,1,0,999999,1 /output=tcmd_nodups.all

    wouldn't this create a file with all lines - minus those with duplicates?

    type aaa.aaa
    a
    a
    a
    b
    d
    c

    >tpipe /input=aaa.aaa /dup=0,1,0,999999,1 /output=bbb.bbb

    would result in
    type bbb.bbb
    a
    b
    d
    c

    bbb.bb is what I am looking for....... Just not sure of the /Dup= parameters....

    <end of post>
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,076
    Likes Received:
    30
    That looks like simple removal of duplicates ///
    Code:
    v:\> type abc.txt
    a
    a
    a
    b
    c
    d
    
    v:\> tpipe /input=abc.txt /output=abc1.txt /dup=0,0,1,1,1
    
    v:\> type abc1.txt
    a
    b
    c
    d
    
    v:\>
     
  5. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    So Am I correct in this?

    v:\> type abc.txt
    a
    a
    a
    b
    c
    d

    echo %@lines[abc.txt]
    rem Above line will set %_LINES_MAXLEN as mentioned in the CHM

    rem /dup=Type,MatchCase,StartColumn,Length,IncludeOne
    tpipe /input=abc.txt /dup=0,1,0,%_LINES_MAXLEN,1 /output=abc_case_sensitive.txt
    tpipe /input=abc.txt /dup=0,1,0,%_LINES_MAXLEN,0 /output=abc_case_insensitive.txt

    Is the above lines correct - given the name of the output file???
     
  6. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,076
    Likes Received:
    30
    That doesn't look right. /DUP's **2nd** parameter decides case sensitivity, not its last parameter. The only difference (other than the output file name) between your two examples is in the last parameter.
     

Share This Page