1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

v10 IDE / bdebugger

Discussion in 'Support' started by Peter Bratton, Jan 25, 2009.

  1. Peter Bratton

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Assuming the current working directory is c:\btm and it contains testme.btm

    TCC 9.02.154 Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    "bdebugger testme" works

    TCC 10.00.41 Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    "bdebugger testme" works
    "ide testme" displays a message box saying "c:\btm\test was not found"
    "\tcc\ide testme" works
    --
    Peter
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    Peter Bratton wrote:

    WAD - the BDEBUGGER command knows that you're trying to load a batch
    file and will search for & add a missing extension. The IDE command is
    more generic (the editor supports a lot of other file types) and it
    cannot assume that you want to edit a batch file.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  3. Peter Bratton

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then "\tcc\ide testme" should fail since I don't supply the "btm" extension. Both debugger and IDE are listed as internal, and on their shared help page, they appear to be interchangeable. Seems to me they should behave the same way. Not that I'm complaining, I'm just sayin', I like the IDE.
    --
    Peter
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    Peter Bratton wrote:

    You should never run IDE.EXE independently; if you do, it's going to
    always interpret everything as a batch file (because it's missing the
    arguments being passed from TCC.EXE). It will definitely not work at
    all in future versions.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. drrob106

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: v10

    I am a little confused about the V 10 beta. I thought I read that V 10
    is supposed to allow dragging files to the folders or list view. If I
    am right, how is that supposed to work?

    --rob
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    Re: v10

    You can drag files from the desktop or Explorer to the list view.

    What are you trying to do?
     
  7. drrob106

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: v10

    I was trying to use it as a replacement for explorer by dragging a file
    from List View to Folders View. I found out that it does not work that
    way. Explorer does work that way, so it has to be possible.

    On Mon, 2009-01-26 at 17:08 -0600, rconn wrote:

     
  8. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    Re: v10

    There were also explorer-like programs that added a file viewer, and
    included the drag from List View to Folders View. Is this operation
    being considered for V-10?

    drrob106 wrote:

     
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    Re: v10

    drrob1 wrote:

    V10 is feature complete; any further suggestions will be added to the
    list for v11.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  10. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    Re: v10

    Is there a What's New or FAQ for v-10 that does not require installing
    the beta?

    rconn wrote:

     
  11. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    Re: v10

    drrob1 wrote:

    Not until v10 is released.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     

Share This Page