1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VIEW doesn't work again

Discussion in 'Support' started by jabelli, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. jabelli

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Code:
    [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD14x64]dir | view
    nothing happens

    Code:
    [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD14x64]ver /r
     
    TCC  14.00.31 x64  Windows 7 [Version 6.1.7601]
    TCC Build 31  Windows 7 Build 7601  Service Pack 1
    Registered to John Belli - 1 System License
    I've already tried moving aside my ini and tcstart, and reinstalling.
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,794
    Likes Received:
    29
    Is the directory where V.EXE lives (TCC's home directory) in your PATH variable?
     
  3. jabelli

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, but if I use eset to add it, it doesn't help.
     
  4. jabelli

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Neither does adding it to the system path and restarting TCMD.
     
  5. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,280
    Likes Received:
    38
    That works for me, but I'm using 32-bit Windows. Have you tried the x86 version of Take Command?
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    81
    Not reproducible here (14.0.31 x64 & Win7). Does VIEW work if you don't run it in a pipe (i.e., "view somefile")?

    Anybody else having problems running VIEW?
     
  7. jabelli

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, it doesn't work at all. Unless I install 32-bit, in which case it works whether or not it's in the path. Well, it does once. Now I can't even start 32-bit.
     
  8. jabelli

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I fixed it. I found V.log, it said I wasn’t licensed. V does not see the license information if you “Register for all users” only. So I entered my license as a regular user and it works now. Which kind of defeats the purpose of “Register for all users.”
     
  9. FileViewer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible that you had previously registered as a regular user under a different name?
     
  10. jabelli

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. In fact, I don't think I registered 14 at all except “for all users.”
     
  11. FileViewer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    In that case, is it possible that you had version 13 registered under a different user name?
     
  12. jabelli

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Registered user has been the above mentioned since version 9, when JPSoft started putting the user name and license number together.

    Does “m_nStage=9, stage=2” mean anything?
     
  13. FileViewer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not really, but can you please send V.log to "v at fileviewer.com"
     
  14. FileViewer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you still reproduce the problem as another user?
     
  15. jabelli

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. When I originally installed v14, I used the “register for all users.” Neither account could use VIEW. Then I registered again under my user account. The admin account could still not use VIEW until I registered again without “register for all users.”
     
  16. FileViewer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you can reproduce the problem, please replace your v.exe with the one below:

    ftp://ftp.fileviewer.com/jpsoft/v.exe

    After running VIEW (which should fail) send me the latest v.log
     
  17. jabelli

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I finally got time to try this in a VM and I can’t activate TCMD any more, so can't even attempt a reproduction.
     

Share This Page