1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Who's doing the cacheing?

Discussion in 'Support' started by vefatica, Nov 12, 2010.

  1. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    29
    When I visit

    http://weather.noaa.gov/weather/current/KSYR.html

    with FireFox or IE (right now) I see the current weather conditions in Syracuse as of "Nov 11, 2010 - 11:54 PM EST".

    When I TYPE that URL, I get the conditions for "Nov 11, 2010 - 04:54 PM EST".

    FireFox, IE, and TCC all get the page from the same Akamai/RoadRunner cacheing server.

    Why are the results different?
     
  2. jabelli

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bet you half a dollar the cache is load-balanced, and you're getting different servers with different programs. Maybe it's checking the user agent so that the results are consistent?
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    You've completely lost me. Why would you think that TYPE would execute HTML code?

    (TCC is definitely *not* caching anything, though who knows what Windows might be doing ...)
     
  4. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    vefatica:
    | When I visit
    |
    | http://weather.noaa.gov/weather/current/KSYR.html
    |
    | with FireFox or IE (right now) I see the current weather conditions
    | in Syracuse as of "Nov 11, 2010 - 11:54 PM EST".
    |
    | When I TYPE that URL, I get the conditions for "Nov 11, 2010 - 04:54
    | PM EST".
    |
    | FireFox, IE, and TCC all get the page from the same Akamai/RoadRunner
    | cacheing server.
    |
    | Why are the results different?

    I presume "When I TYPE ..." refers to using the TYPE command in TCC to access the URL. I repeated your test, using one of the locations in my vicinity (Ft. Meade/Tipton, MD). I saved the output of the TYPE command into a file, which I displayed in a Firefox tab, together with the Firefox direct result; they were identical. You may try another test - concurrently download the webpage from multiple different TCC processes, and see if they are identical. BTW, my cable ISP is Comcast.
    I am wondering if your observation has any relationship to my repeated observation that using TCC's FTP access to the JPsoft website often locates cached older files when newer ones have already been put on the server.
    --
    Steve
     
  5. Rodolfo

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too do not understand exactly what You mean.
    I tried typing, in TCC/LE 12 build 35, these two commands:
    1) type http://weather.noaa.gov/weather/current/KSYR.html
    2) http://weather.noaa.gov/weather/current/KSYR.html
    The first gave me an error:
    TCC: (Sys) The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.
    "http://weather.noaa.gov/weather/current/KSYR.html"
    The second shows me an internet page in internet explorer (my default browser).
    Using firefox, opera, safari or chrome I get the same result.
    So, apart from time zones I cannot guess why You should see any differences.

    Regards

    Rodolfo Giovanninetti
     
  6. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    1
  7. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,784
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Fri, 12 Nov 2010 13:24:53 -0500, Rodolfo Giovanninetti
    <> wrote:

    |I too do not understand exactly what You mean.
    |I tried typing, in TCC/LE 12 build 35, these two commands:
    |1) type http://weather.noaa.gov/weather/current/KSYR.html
    |2) http://weather.noaa.gov/weather/current/KSYR.html
    |The first gave me an error:
    |TCC: (Sys) The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.
    | "http://weather.noaa.gov/weather/current/KSYR.html"
    |The second shows me an internet page in internet explorer (my default browser).
    |Using firefox, opera, safari or chrome I get the same result.
    |So, apart from time zones I cannot guess why You should see any differences.

    You can use TYPE on a URL. It simply shows the source:

    Code:
    v:\> type [URL='http://weather.noaa.gov/weather/current/KSYR.html']http://weather.noaa.gov/weather/current/KSYR.html[/URL] | notags |
    crunch
    www.weather.gov&nbsp; &nbsp; Site Map News Organization Search&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbs
    p; Current Weather Conditions:SYRACUSE HANCOCK INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT , NY, Unite
    d States (KSYR) 43-07N 76-06W 127M Conditions at Nov 11, 2010 - 10:54 PM EST Nov
     11, 2010 - 09:54 PM CST Nov 11, 2010 - 08:54 PM MST Nov 11, 2010 - 07:54 PM
    PST(snip)
     

Share This Page