1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wierd install problem for TCMD 10

Discussion in 'Support' started by branch, Feb 16, 2009.

  1. branch

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI Guys,

    I downloaded the current version of TCMD 10 and installed it on my notebook without issue.

    When I tried to install it on my desktop it seemingly goes OK but when at the end of the installation I say yes to open TCMD 10 I get a Windows Explorer window. Further, I can find no trace, aside from the Registry and rge Add/Remove Programs area of TCMD10 Installed files.

    If I elect to deinstall it it seems to go through all the motions OK.

    This is most strange.

    I still have TCMD 9 installed OK.

    If I leave TCMD 10 'installed' I start to get all sorts of flaky drive/directory issues in Windows and applications.

    Any thoughts/suggestions as to where to look to resolve this would be appreciated.

    Regards & TIA,

    Ian
     
  2. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    branch wrote:
    | HI Guys,
    |
    | I downloaded the current version of TCMD 10 and installed it on my
    | notebook without issue.
    |
    | When I tried to install it on my desktop it seemingly goes OK but
    | when at the end of the installation I say yes to open TCMD 10 I get a
    | Windows Explorer window. Further, I can find no trace, aside from
    | the Registry and rge Add/Remove Programs area of TCMD10 Installed
    | files.
    |
    | If I elect to deinstall it it seems to go through all the motions OK.
    |
    | This is most strange.
    |
    | I still have TCMD 9 installed OK.
    |
    | If I leave TCMD 10 'installed' I start to get all sorts of flaky
    | drive/directory issues in Windows and applications.
    |
    | Any thoughts/suggestions as to where to look to resolve this would be
    | appreciated.

    You failed to mention what OS each machine runs. Regardless, I ran into the
    virtually identical issue on my WinXP SP3 system somewhere along build 45 or
    so. The Windows Explorer window that is opened instead of TCMD 10 is
    essentially a "search" window to locate TCMD - which is not actually
    installed. Rex claims that the problem is that the Windows Installer on my
    system is screwed up. Thus far I could not find a way to reinstall the
    installer, so I am still using an old beta version of TCC10, but mostly I
    just use TCC9.
    --
    Steve
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    81
    branch wrote:


    Try running the installer with the logging option:

    TCMD /L*V "tcmd.log"

    and send me the log file.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  4. branch

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Steve,

    Thanks for the reply.

    >>You failed to mention what OS each machine runs. Regardless, I ran into the virtually identical issue on my WinXP SP3 system somewhere along build 45 or so.
    IB - Yep, Win XP Pro Sp3.

    >>The Windows Explorer window that is opened instead of TCMD 10 is
    essentially a "search" window to locate TCMD - which is not actually
    installed. Rex claims that the problem is that the Windows Installer on my
    system is screwed up.
    IB -Hmmm - I can accept that so the obvious question is what is screwed and how to fix it.

    >>Thus far I could not find a way to reinstall the installer, so I am still using an old beta version of TCC10, but mostly I just use TCC9.
    IB - So I guess the question is what happened between the installation of the TCMD 10 beta and subsequent attempts to install? Was it a change in the PC or in the installation?

    The aspect that the issue has occurred on more than one end user 'environment' would tend to indicate something is amiss. I had similar trouble with a recent installation update foe Developer Express which they tracked down and 'patched' their installer. Not sure what the actual root cause was though.

    Regards,

    Ian
     
  5. branch

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Rex,

    >Try running the installer with the logging option:
    >TCMD /L*V "tcmd.log"
    >and send me the log file.

    Log file sent to rconn at jpsoft.net

    Regards,

    Ian
     

Share This Page