1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

x64 Support

Discussion in 'Support' started by jfrodsham, Sep 21, 2008.

  1. jfrodsham

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I poked around a bit on the new forum here, and didn't see too much about x64 support. On the old Sparklist forum Rex Conn jumped in and mentioned there was not much to be gained by an x64 version, but that it was being worked on. However, I have recently run in to some issues, that has brought me back here. When using 4NT 7.01.370, if I try and run some 64bit console apps I get errors with the software or even "file not found". The most recent problem was when I tried to run "sfc /scannow". I get this message: Windows Resource Protection could not start the repair service. If I run it from cmd.exe, it works fine. I have noticed when doing a directory listing some files won't show up with 4nt.exe, but I can see them in explorer or a cmd.exe prompt. Any ideas what might be wrong?

    Thanks,
    j

    P.S. Wow.... going on twenty years using 4DOS and its descendants! I can't think of too many other software products with that kind of staying power.
     
  2. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    39
    Version 7 is getting pretty long in the tooth. You might try downloading version 9 and see if that one doesn't work better for you.
     
  3. jfrodsham

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suppose I should have been more clear. I want to find out if my issues have been resolved before dropping the $50 bucks.
    -j
     
  4. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,299
    Likes Received:
    39
    That's the cool thing. You can download and it and try it out - for free - before deciding whether you want to spend the money. (Unfortunately I know nothing about x64, although I vaguely recall that there were some minor x64-related changes in one of the updates.)
     
  5. jfrodsham

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good call, but unfortunately the issues still exist:

    [C:\Program Files (x86)\JPSoft\TCMD9]sfc /scannow

    Windows Resource Protection could not start the repair service.

    [C:\Program Files (x86)\JPSoft\TCMD9]

    -j
     
  6. jfrodsham

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok here is an even better example. Open up a cmd.exe prompt and cd to your windows\system32 folder. Type "dir >cmd.txt". Obviously this pipes the listing to the text the file. Now here is the catch. Open up a TC window and navigate there. Try to find the file. Here is my result:

    C:\Windows\System32]dir cmd.txt

    Volume in drive C is unlabeled Serial number is 6a1b:c464
    TCC: (Sys) The system cannot find the file specified.
    "C:\Windows\System32\cmd.txt"
    0 bytes in 0 files and 0 dirs
    68,354,109,440 bytes free

    -j
     
  7. jfrodsham

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok..... Windows is pulling some kind of snow job on me. If you replicate the the previous example with TC:

    Code:
    TCC  9.02.152   Windows Vista [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright 2008  Rex Conn & JP Software Inc.  All Rights Reserved
    Your evaluation period expires in 30 days.
    You can order Take Command at http://jpsoft.com
    
    [C:\Program Files (x86)\JPSoft\TCMD9]cd \Windows\System32
    
    [C:\Windows\System32]dir >tc.txt
    
    tc.txt actually ends up in a folder called "C:\Windows\SysWOW64" if you try and find it with a 64bit program. I need an aspirin.

    -j
     
  8. jfrodsham

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update:

    It pays to RTFM..... I found the Win64 file system redirection override option. I still need the aspirin.

    -J
     
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    jfrodsham wrote:

    You need to set Wow64FSRedirection=NO in your 4NT.INI file.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  10. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    11
    Is anyone else receiving this thread as raw HTML? I can barely read it
    because of all the angle bracketed fields.

    -Scott

    "JP Software Forums" <neil@jpsoft.com> wrote on 09/22/2008 11:18:15 AM:


    body {
    font-family: Verdana, Geneva, Arial, helvetica, sans-

    }
    table {
    margin-top: 1em;
    }
    td {
    font-family: Verdana,

    font-size: 80%;
    }
    th {
    font-

    font-size:

    }
    alt2 {
    background-color: #FFFFFF;
    font-family: Verdana,

    font-size: 80%;
    }
    -->

     
  11. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    JP Software Forums" <neil@jpsoft.com>; "jfrodsham wrote:
    | Update:
    |
    | It pays to RTFM..... I found the Win64 file system redirection
    | override option. I still need the aspirin.

    Glad you found the solution. Sorry, the problem is MS' refusal to provide
    backward compatibility. You'd think they'd learn after 3 decades, but
    arrogance wins.
    --
    Steve
     
  12. jfrodsham

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately the Wow64FSRedirection option doesn't totally solve the problem. Executing this command from 4NT:

    C:\Windows\System32>dir > out.txt

    will still put out.txt in to the SysWOW64 folder no matter the setting. :( The main thing is I understand what is happening so I can work around it. I still think it would be nice to have x64 binaries for TCC etc...

    -J
     
  13. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,854
    Likes Received:
    83
    jfrodsham wrote:

    That is not 64-bit related -- Vista will not allow an app to write to
    the \Windows directory and subdirectories (or "\program files") unless
    the app is an installer.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  14. jfrodsham

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works as expected if you use cmd.exe.

    -J
     

Share This Page