1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Block a web site

Discussion in 'T&T - Scripting' started by Joe Caverly, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. Joe Caverly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    6
    I use the latest version of FireFox, and have installed add-ons to block un-desirable content from the Internet. The add-ons Adblock Plus, Flashblock, Ghostery, and ProCon Latte do a great job of blocking un-desirable content from the Internet.

    Microsoft Security Essentials provides great protection from viruses and such, and having un-desirable sites blocked in the hosts file is another part of securing my XP system.

    I also keep my hosts file up-to-date with the latest threats via the MVPS Hosts updates. Using HostsMan allows me to update my hosts file, without losing sites that I have manually added to my hosts file.

    With all of this security, there are still un-desirable sites that do get through

    A FireFox addon, ShowIP, displays the IP address of the site that is being viewed in FireFox. Left clicking on this IP address pops up a menu, showing the host for the site being viewed. Directly underneath it is the option to copy this host to the clipboard.

    To block this site for my system, regardless of what browser, program, or CLI I am using, I add the site to my hosts file. The following is a batch file that I have written to do this.

    Code:
    ::
    :: Add a host name to the hosts file,
    ::  in order to block that host.
    ::
    :: Written using
    :: TCC  11.00.52   Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    :: TCC Build 52   Windows XP Build 2600  Service Pack 3
    ::
    :: Joe Caverly, January 2001
    ::
    @echo off
    set hosts=C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    echo Searching %hosts file for %@clip[0]
    ffind /t"%@clip[0]" %hosts > nul
    if %_? eq 2 goto notfound
    echo %@clip[0] already exists in hosts
    goto eoj
    :notfound
    ::Ensure that this is a good IP Name
    if %@count[.,%@clip[0]] eq 0 goto badname
    if %@ipaddress[%@clip[0]] eq 11001 goto badname
    ::
    :: You may need to add further checking,
    ::  depending on how you use your hosts file.
    ::
    echo Adding %@clip[0] to hosts file
    echo 127.0.0.1  %@clip[0] >> C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    echo %@clip[0] is now blocked
    goto eoj
    :badname
    echo (%@clip[0]) is a bad IP Name
    :eoj
    
    I have also added a button to the Take Command Toolbar, that I can click after switching from FireFox, that will execute the batch file, with the command c:\utils\a2h.btm enter

    As I still use XP, the location of your hosts file may be different if you use Vista or Windows 7.

    While there may be other solutions, this is a quick way to add the name of a host to your hosts file, so that it is immediately blocked on your system. If, in the future, you want to unblock this site, simply edit your hosts file, and remove the line from the file, or precede the line with a #.

    Joe
     
  2. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joe,

    You may be interested in checking out
    ClearCloud from Sunbelt Software (I think they may be called GFI now) the
    makers of the most awesome-est antivirus/antispyware/firewall product
    Vipre Premium. http://www.vipreantivirus.com

    ClearCloud is a free service. http://clearclouddns.com

    -Scott

    Joe Caverly <> wrote
    on 01/19/2011 10:55:58 AM:




    is


    allows me to


    is

    a






     
  3. Joe Caverly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thankyou, but when I say un-desirable websites, I mean pornographic.

    A Firefox add-on like ProCon Latte does block sites with its blocked words and blocked sites lists, but I consider pictures of scantly clad females to be pornographic, while others do not.

    While adding the sites I want blocked to the ProCon Latte blocked sites list does block them in Firefox, it does not block them in Internet Explorer, or other applications that access the Internet. Blocking the sites via the hosts file is a better solution, and it does not consume any memory or resources on the system.

    Anti-Virus software will not block this "soft porn".

    Joe
     

Share This Page