1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DebugVariableExclude?

Discussion in 'Support' started by vefatica, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    I have PATH, and most other variables in VariableExclude and DebugVariableExclude? I **thought** the point of DebugVariableExclude was to keep IDE from **showing** the variables (because the environment display is too cluttered). Apparently, it keeps IDE from even getting those variables (because things that require PATH or SYSTEMROOT fail in the debugger (while they work outside IDE). Could you change the behavior so IDE gets the whole environment and we can use DebugVariableExclude to filter what's displayed?
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,804
    Likes Received:
    82
    Not correct -- DebugVariableExclude definitely does *not* touch the
    environment; it only affects what appears in the Environment window. The
    only way it can affect the IDE environment is if you click on the "reset"
    button on the Environment tab toolbar, which will replace the current
    environment with
    the contents of the Environment window. (Again, not new behavior.)

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    Well something is fishy. I start a new TCC v12. SET shows nothing and SET /X shows all you'd expect. I issue "BDEBUGGER IDESET.BTM".

    Code:
    v:\> type ideset.btm ideset.btm
    SET /X
    ECHO %PATH
    tracert ilucky
    In IDE I start without debugging (or start\run to end or breakpoint) and I see, in the console

    Code:
    CMDLINE="v:\ideset.btm"
    ECHO is OFF
    TCC: V:\ideset.btm [3]  Unknown command "tracert"
    And I don't even have an "Environment" tab at the bottom of IDE (I do have the other four tabs). See the attached noenvtab.jpg for a picture. And View(menu)\Environment won't make it visible.

    If I first UNSET DebugVariableExclude, the output is correct, but I still don't have an environment watch tab.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Wed, 08 Sep 2010 22:21:27 -0400, vefatica <> wrote:

    |Well something is fishy. I start a new TCC v12. SET shows nothing and SET /X shows all you'd expect. I issue "BDEBUGGER IDESET.BTM".
    |
    |
    |Code:
    |---------
    |v:\> type ideset.btm ideset.btm
    |SET /X
    |ECHO %PATH
    |tracert ilucky
    |---------

    Here are the outputs from two runs without debugging (with debugvariable set and
    without):

    Code:
    v:\> bdebugger ideset.btm
    CMDLINE="v:\ideset.btm"
    ECHO is OFF
    TCC: V:\ideset.btm [3]  Unknown command "tracert"
    
    v:\> unset debugvariableexclude
    
    v:\> bdebugger ideset.btm
    ALLUSERSPROFILE=e:\Users\All Users
    APPDATA=e:\Users\vefatica\Application Data
    CLIENTNAME=Console
    CMDLINE="v:\ideset.btm"
    CommonProgramFiles=C:\Program Files\Common Files
    COMPUTERNAME=ZZ
    ComSpec=D:\TC12\TCC.EXE
    HistoryExclude=exit;cls;acls;cd;cdd;*anagram*;get
    HOME=d:\home
    HOMEDRIVE=e:
    HOMEPATH=\Users\vefatica
    IP=74.71.55.217
    LOGONSERVER=\\ZZ
    NUMBER_OF_PROCESSORS=4
    OS=Windows_NT
    Path=D:\Perl\site\bin;D:\Perl\bin;C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\Syst
    em32\Wbem;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Roxio Shared\DLLShared\;C:\Program Files
    \Common Files\Roxio Shared\9.0\DLLShared\;d:\uty;d:\ttk;G:\VS2008\VC\bin;D:\DK7\
    ;D:\MSTools;d:\windump;D:\NetMon3\;D:\watcom1.3\binnt;D:\watcom1.3\binw;C:\WINDO
    WS\system32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0
    PATHEXT=.COM;.EXE;.BAT;.CMD;.VBS;.VBE;.JS;.JSE;.WSF;.WSH;.PSC1
    PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=x86
    PROCESSOR_IDENTIFIER=x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 11, GenuineIntel
    PROCESSOR_LEVEL=6
    PROCESSOR_REVISION=0f0b
    ProgramFiles=C:\Program Files
    PROMPT=$e[32;1m$p$g$s$e[0m
    RoxioCentral=C:\Program Files\Common Files\Roxio Shared\9.0\Roxio Central33\
    SESSIONNAME=Console
    SHRALIAS_SAVE_PATH=e:\ShrDump\
    SystemDrive=C:
    SystemRoot=C:\WINDOWS
    TEMP=e:\temp
    tintercept=11.0795413214174
    TITLEPROMPT=$s[%_pid]$s$s$p
    TMP=e:\temp
    tslope=-0.183292737645513
    USERDOMAIN=ZZ
    USERNAME=vefatica
    USERPROFILE=e:\Users\vefatica
    VariableExclude=PATH;VariableExclude;DebugVariableExclude;allusersprofile;appdat
    a;common*;computername;comspec;home;homedrive;homepath;IP;LOgonserver;number_of_
    processors;OS;pathext;processor*;programfiles;prompt;roxiocentral;sessionname;sh
    ralias_save_path;systemdrive;systemroot;temp;tintercept;titleprompt;tmp;tslope;u
    ser*;vs*;watcom;windir;DiskeeperIcon;historyexclude;DebugVariableExclude;clientn
    ame;homeshare
    VS90COMNTOOLS=G:\VS2008\Common7\Tools\
    WATCOM=D:\watcom1.3
    windir=C:\WINDOWS
    D:\Perl\site\bin;D:\Perl\bin;C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32\
    Wbem;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Roxio Shared\DLLShared\;C:\Program Files\Comm
    on Files\Roxio Shared\9.0\DLLShared\;d:\uty;d:\ttk;G:\VS2008\VC\bin;D:\DK7\;D:\M
    STools;d:\windump;D:\NetMon3\;D:\watcom1.3\binnt;D:\watcom1.3\binw;C:\WINDOWS\sy
    stem32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0
    
    Tracing route to lucky.syr.edu [128.230.13.36]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:
    
      1     6 ms     6 ms    10 ms  10.236.192.1
      2    12 ms    12 ms    13 ms  gig2-1-0.4083.syrcnycsr-rtr10.nyroc.rr.com [24.9
    2.246.125]
      3     8 ms    12 ms     9 ms  xe-4-3-0-0.rochnyei-rtr000.nyroc.rr.com [24.24.7
    .241]
      4    29 ms    30 ms    29 ms  ae-3-0.cr0.chi10.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.72]
      5    83 ms    29 ms    31 ms  ae-0-0.pr0.chi10.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.153]
      6    30 ms    29 ms    30 ms  te0-2-0-7.ccr22.ord03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .11.145]
      7    30 ms    29 ms    29 ms  te0-4-0-1.ccr22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .6.209]
      8    39 ms    37 ms    37 ms  te0-0-0-1.ccr22.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .40.201]
      9    37 ms    37 ms    37 ms  te0-4-0-2.ccr22.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .41.10]
     10    37 ms    37 ms    38 ms  te0-1-0-0.mpd22.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .25.138]
     11    38 ms    37 ms    37 ms  te9-8.mpd01.jfk01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.40.
    29]
     12    44 ms    46 ms    44 ms  38.104.188.206
     13    51 ms    49 ms    45 ms  128.230.61.1
     14    43 ms    46 ms    43 ms  lucky.syr.edu [128.230.13.36]
    
    Trace complete.
     
  5. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Wed, 08 Sep 2010 22:40:59 -0400, vefatica <> wrote:

    ||Well something is fishy. I start a new TCC v12. SET shows nothing and SET /X shows all you'd expect. I issue "BDEBUGGER IDESET.BTM".
    ||
    ||
    ||Code:
    ||---------
    ||v:\> type ideset.btm ideset.btm
    ||SET /X
    ||ECHO %PATH
    ||tracert ilucky
    ||---------

    This is even fishier. I "BDEBUGGER IDESET.BTM". Without doing anything, and
    from another TCC, I use my PSET.EXE utility to see IDE's environment. It's all
    there (output snipped below):

    Code:
    v:\> pset %@pid[ide.exe] *
    =D:=D:\
    =E:=E:\
    =V:=V:\
    ALLUSERSPROFILE=e:\Users\All Users
    APPDATA=e:\Users\vefatica\Application Data
    CLIENTNAME=Console
    CommonProgramFiles=C:\Program Files\Common Files
    **snip**
    Then I run (without debugging or to end or break) and I get, in the console,

    Code:
    CMDLINE="v:\ideset.btm"
    ECHO is OFF
    TCC: V:\ideset.btm [3]  Unknown command "tracert"
    If I again look at IDE's environment from the outside, it's mostly gone:

    Code:
    v:\> pset %@pid[ide.exe] *
    =D:=D:\
    =E:=E:\
    =V:=V:\
    CMDLINE="v:\ideset.btm"
    Stepping through the BTM is OK. But once I run (without debugging or to end or
    break) the environment is clobbered. All of the above also happens with v11 and
    for both v11 and v12 all's well if I first UNSET DebugVariableExclude.
     
  6. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,883
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Wed, 08 Sep 2010 23:17:52 -0400, vefatica <> wrote:

    |This is even fishier. I "BDEBUGGER IDESET.BTM". Without doing anything, and
    |from another TCC, I use my PSET.EXE utility to see IDE's environment. It's all
    |there (output snipped below):

    And when I run (not stepping) while watching with WinDbg, I can see IDE calling
    SetEnvironmentVariable(..., NULL) on everything!
     

Share This Page