1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OT: does the PC have adequate memory?

Discussion in 'Open Forum' started by CSGalloway@nc.rr.com, Sep 19, 2008.

  1. Hi,

    How do I determine if the computer has enough memory (not disk space)? Any advice will be helpful.....
     
  2. Rex Clark

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    internal cmd memory
    displays physical ram

    ----- Original Message -----
    | Hi,
    |
    | How do I determine if the computer has enough memory (not disk space)?
    Any advice will be helpful.....
     
  3. Yes but how do I know if I have an adequate amount, given all my programs?
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: Rex Clark
    To: CSGalloway@nc.rr.com
    Sent: Friday, September 19, 2008 1:54 AM
    Subject: RE: [Open Forum-t-463] OT: does the PC have adequate memory?


    internal cmd memory
    displays physical ram

    ----- Original Message -----
    | Hi,
    |
    | How do I determine if the computer has enough memory (not disk space)?
    Any advice will be helpful.....
     
  4. Rex Clark

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's a hard one but minimum would be 512MB 1 gig or better optimal
    Bill Gates once said "who would need more 640K"

    ----- Original Message -----
    | Yes but how do I know if I have an adequate amount, given all my programs?
     
  5. Here is the output from mem and memory..... What should the memory load be when it's just sitting?



    655360 bytes total conventional memory
    655360 bytes available to MS-DOS
    632672 largest executable program size

    1048576 bytes total contiguous extended memory
    0 bytes available contiguous extended memory
    941056 bytes available XMS memory
    MS-DOS resident in High Memory Area

    87 % Memory load

    534,556,672 bytes total physical RAM
    64,962,560 bytes available physical RAM

    1,306,992,640 bytes total page file
    478,294,016 bytes available page file

    2,147,352,576 bytes total virtual RAM
    2,058,727,424 bytes available virtual RAM

    65,536 characters total alias
    61,619 characters free

    65,536 characters total function
    65,496 characters free

    131,072 characters total history
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: CSGalloway@nc.rr.com
    To: CSGalloway@nc.rr.com
    Sent: Friday, September 19, 2008 2:16 AM
    Subject: RE: [Open Forum-t-463] OT: does the PC have adequate memory?


    Yes but how do I know if I have an adequate amount, given all my programs?
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: Rex Clark
    To: CSGalloway@nc.rr.com
    Sent: Friday, September 19, 2008 1:54 AM
    Subject: RE: [Open Forum-t-463] OT: does the PC have adequate memory?


    internal cmd memory
    displays physical ram

    ----- Original Message -----
    | Hi,
    |
    | How do I determine if the computer has enough memory (not disk space)?
    Any advice will be helpful.....
     
  6. Rex Clark

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Irrelevant standard emulated DOS support in Xp

    Loading seems very high My configuration is similar to yours in Physical ram
    installed with more physical ram available. You have it set to use more RAM
    to run applications. Pc's are very rarely IDLE they are always doing ~stuff~
    in the background "transparent" to the user. That may explain why the
    loading is so high.

    As a comparison only

    56 % Memory load

    536,330,240 bytes total physical RAM
    231,772,160 bytes available physical RAM

    1,307,963,392 bytes total page file
    985,305,088 bytes available page file

    2,147,352,576 bytes total virtual RAM
    2,096,721,920 bytes available virtual RAM

    16,384 characters total alias
    15,306 characters free

    32,768 characters total function
    32,767 characters free

    8,192 characters total history
     
  7. K_Meinhard

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    CSGalloway@nc.rr.com wrote:


    You don't tell us your Operating System. MS has announced minimum
    configurations for each OS. Generally you want to at least double that
    amount to work fluently.

    If you experience long breaks in your work with the system seemingly
    frozen, your computer is probably swapping memory ti disk and back, a
    sure sign of not enough memory.

    On the other hand there is an upper limit to the memory your OS can
    handle. IIRC CP doesn't use memory above 3 GByte or so.

    Many XP systems work well with 2 GByte, amd an update from 1GByte or
    less can make your system faster.

    * Klaus Meinhard *
    4DOS Info - Info for DOS
    www.4dos.info
     
  8. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    11
    The thing to look at is the amount of physical RAM vs. the commit charge.
    Obviously, Windows supports virtual memory so you can actually have more
    "stuff" loaded (commit charge) than there is physical RAM available.
    However, you dramtically slow down the performance of your PC when all
    that disk I/O needs to happen to swap pages in and out of RAM.

    Ideally, your commit charge will always be less than total physical RAM.

    You can view those values using Task Manager or Process Explorer. The
    latter gives more detail, but the former will tell you what you need to
    know.

    -Scott

    CSGalloway@nc.rr.com wrote:


    Quote:

     
  9. So one of the main differences is the % memory load. what is a good range for that to be? And assuming i don't want to quit any programs, would I be better off adding more RAM or what are the ways to get the memory load % down?
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: Rex Clark
    To: CSGalloway@nc.rr.com
    Sent: Friday, September 19, 2008 6:07 AM
    Subject: RE: [Open Forum-t-463] OT: does the PC have adequate memory?


    Quote:

    | Here is the output from mem and memory..... What should the memory load
    be when it's just sitting?
    | 655360 bytes total conventional memory
    | 655360 bytes available to MS-DOS
    | 632672 largest executable program size
    |
    | 1048576 bytes total contiguous extended memory
    | 0 bytes available contiguous extended memory
    | 941056 bytes available XMS memory
    | MS-DOS resident in High Memory Area

    Irrelevant standard emulated DOS support in Xp


    Quote:
    | 87 % Memory load
    |
    | 534,556,672 bytes total physical RAM
    | 64,962,560 bytes available physical RAM
    |
    | 1,306,992,640 bytes total page file
    | 478,294,016 bytes available page file
    |
    | 2,147,352,576 bytes total virtual RAM
    | 2,058,727,424 bytes available virtual RAM
    |
    | 65,536 characters total alias
    | 61,619 characters free
    |
    | 65,536 characters total function
    | 65,496 characters free
    |
    | 131,072 characters total history

    Loading seems very high My configuration is similar to yours in Physical ram
    installed with more physical ram available. You have it set to use more RAM
    to run applications. Pc's are very rarely IDLE they are always doing ~stuff~
    in the background "transparent" to the user. That may explain why the
    loading is so high.

    As a comparison only

    56 % Memory load

    536,330,240 bytes total physical RAM
    231,772,160 bytes available physical RAM

    1,307,963,392 bytes total page file
    985,305,088 bytes available page file

    2,147,352,576 bytes total virtual RAM
    2,096,721,920 bytes available virtual RAM

    16,384 characters total alias
    15,306 characters free

    32,768 characters total function
    32,767 characters free

    8,192 characters total history
     
  10. So the commit charge is:

    current - 1152000
    limit - 1530000
    peak - 1307000

    ????
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: samintz
    To: CSGalloway@nc.rr.com
    Sent: Friday, September 19, 2008 10:32 AM
    Subject: RE: [Open Forum-t-463] OT: does the PC have adequate memory?


    The thing to look at is the amount of physical RAM vs. the commit charge.
    Obviously, Windows supports virtual memory so you can actually have more
    "stuff" loaded (commit charge) than there is physical RAM available.
    However, you dramtically slow down the performance of your PC when all
    that disk I/O needs to happen to swap pages in and out of RAM.

    Ideally, your commit charge will always be less than total physical RAM.

    You can view those values using Task Manager or Process Explorer. The
    latter gives more detail, but the former will tell you what you need to
    know.

    -Scott

    CSGalloway@nc.rr.com wrote:


    Quote:


    Quote:
    >
    > Yes but how do I know if I have an adequate amount, given all my
    > programs?
    >
    >
    >
     
  11. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    11
    That says your commit charge is 1.1GB with a peak load of 1.3GB. If you
    have less than 1.3GB of RAM then you are disk thrashing and should upgrade
    your RAM to 2GB.

    -Scott

    "CSGalloway@nc.rr.com" <> wrote on 09/19/2008
    01:47:42 PM:


    charge.


     
  12. logic

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    CSGalloway@nc.rr.com wrote:

    The authoritative way to check is to run PerfMon.exe and have it graph "Page
    Faults/sec" (in the "Memory" category) while you do at least typical use of
    your computer. It won't be 0 when things are happening, because paging is
    not only used when there isn't enough memory but also as the primary means
    of loading file data into memory, but if you are getting high numbers
    continually, you don't have enough memory.

    To give a benchmark, on the computer where I'm writing this e-mail, I
    currently have the following applications open:

    Outlook 2000
    Internet Explorer
    SurroundSCM Source Control Client
    2 x 4NT Prompt
    2 x Visual Basic 6
    Notepad
    4 x Explorer Folder Windows
    2 x SQL Query Analyzer
    WorkUpdate Console (internal app that holds 100+ MB of state information
    and continuously updates it)
    RegEdit
    PerfMon
    2 x PingerThinger (system tray applet I wrote that pings an IP once every 20
    seconds and graphs it)
    SQL Server Agent
    Pageant
    Intel Graphics Tray Icon
    UltraVNC

    There are also a number of background processes and services running, a
    total of 61 using some 718 MB of RAM. The machine has 1 GB of physical RAM,
    which is about adequate for this level of use, and PerfMon is showing an
    average of 150 page faults/sec. The average is high because of peaks of
    500-1000 as I switch from application to application (occasional peaks are

    PerfMon, the "Last" value is frequently less than 15.

    If you see numbers higher than I'm seeing, and if your system seems sluggish
    and to be always accessing the hard drive, then you probably don't have
    enough memory. If you get numbers the same as or better than I'm seeing and
    your hard drive light only flickers occasionally when you're not asking
    programs to access files, you're probably doing just fine. :-)

    Jonathan Gilbert
     
  13. logic

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    From: logic
    Sent: Friday, September 19, 2008 1:51 PM
    Showed up in forum: Friday, September 19, 2008 3:27 PM
    Subject: RE: [Open Forum-t-463] OT: does the PC have adequate memory?

    [snip]


    After I sent the last e-mail, I left the system sitting doing nothing for a
    while and it settled down to an average of 36 with a maximum of 156 over a
    100-second interval. The graph looked sort of like a heartbeat, with a spike
    every 5 seconds.

    I was going to send this reply to myself last Friday but the message took so
    long to arrive in the forum that I forgot about it.

    Jonathan Gilbetr
     

Share This Page