1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is there a silent install option for TCC/LE

Discussion in 'TCC/LE Support' started by Arjan, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. Arjan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to distribute TCC /LE in our network.
    Are there options available in the installation file, so that I can install the package without user intervention?

    Regards,

    Arjan
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    /qn

    (the same as in all Windows Installer files)

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  3. Arjan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rex,

    I used tcmdle.exe /extract however I always end up in a subdirectory 6FD6305 below the target directory. This is probalbly caused by the packager. But I was hoping that with an extra switch it would end up in the target parent directory.
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    Not anything I can control.

    Look at the options for msiexec; you might be able to find something to do
    what you want.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    In case it isn't clear, note that "/extract" does *not* install the app, it
    just extracts the files from the installer. You'd then have to manually
    update a few dozen registry keys and create the shortcuts. The updater
    would not work, and you would not be able to uninstall using the Control
    Panel.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  6. Arjan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which I was hoping for. Extract means extracting. :)

    But tcmdle /extract:c:\temp ends up in c:\temp\6FD6305 not c:\temp.
     
  7. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    Ask Microsoft, I'm sure they could give you a reason for that behavior.

    But is there some reason you won't use "tcmdle /qn", which actually does an
    install (which is what you had asked for), not an extract to a temp
    directory?

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  8. Arjan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your right! I asked the wrong answer. I want to use TCMLE as part of a job in Altiris. Not worrying about icons/uninstall programs makes the jobs even easier. First job: Copy / extract tcmdle to the workstation. Next job run TCMDLE with specific parameters. Altiris makes use of freedos. Not a beefed up Scriptprocessor. Next thing is to see if I can replace the freedos altogether with TCMDLE.
     

Share This Page