1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

keyboard repeat dreadful in TCMD

Discussion in 'Support' started by vefatica, Oct 23, 2009.

  1. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    Keyboard repeat is dreadful in RC2. If, on a command line, I hold down, say,
    the most I can get out of it is about 16 cps (should be 30) and the extra ones pile up in the buffer and occur long after I release the key.​
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Fri, 23 Oct 2009 16:40:07 -0500, vefatica <> wrote:

    |Keyboard repeat is dreadful in RC2. If, on a command line, I hold down, say,
    the most I can get out of it is about 16 cps (should be 30) and the extra ones pile up in the buffer and occur long after I release the key.

    No such problem with TCMD v10.
    --
    - Vince​
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83


    Not reproducible here. (Again, nothing has changed there in at least a
    couple of years.)

    Rex Conn
    JP Software​
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Fri, 23 Oct 2009 19:33:10 -0500, rconn <> wrote:

    |---Quote---
    |> Keyboard repeat is dreadful in RC2. If, on a command line, I hold
    |> down, say,
    the most I can get out of it is about 16 cps (should
    |> be 30) and the extra ones pile up in the buffer and occur long after I
    |> release the key.
    |---End Quote---
    |Not reproducible here. (Again, nothing has changed there in at least a
    |couple of years.)

    I can start v10 and v11 right next to each other; the difference is clear.

    In v10 I get 29 cps and achoing stops as soon as I release the key.

    In v11 I get about half that speed with the other half of the characters
    appearing after I release the key.
    --
    - Vince​
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83


    They're both exactly the same here.

    Are you doing this from a TCMD tab window or a standalone TCC?

    Anybody else able to reproduce this?​
     
  6. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Fri, 23 Oct 2009 21:25:14 -0500, rconn <> wrote:

    |> I can start v10 and v11 right next to each other; the difference is
    |> clear.
    |>
    |> In v10 I get 29 cps and achoing stops as soon as I release the key.
    |>
    |> In v11 I get about half that speed with the other half of the
    |> characters appearing after I release the key.

    |They're both exactly the same here.
    |
    |Are you doing this from a TCMD tab window or a standalone TCC?
    |
    |Anybody else able to reproduce this?

    In TCMD (TCC's OK).
    --
    - Vince
     
  7. gwmacdonald

    gwmacdonald Guest

    Not reproducible here under Windows 7, Vista SP1, or XP SP3.
     
  8. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    Did you try it without plugins?
     
  9. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Fri, 23 Oct 2009 22:31:25 -0500, rconn <> wrote:

    |In TCMD (TCC's OK).
    |--
    |- Vince
    |---End Quote---
    |
    |Did you try it without plugins?

    It's OK without my 4CONBUF plugin (which switches buffers on Shift-Fn). Is it
    that the key handler is slow or would any key handler cause a problem?
    --
    - Vince
     
  10. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    If it's OK with TCC then you've probably got some undesirable interaction
    going on with TCMD. Key handlers are normally pretty fast unless you're
    doing an awful lot of crunching before returning the key.
     
  11. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,952
    Likes Received:
    30
    On Fri, 23 Oct 2009 23:11:34 -0500, rconn <> wrote:

    |---Quote---
    |> |In TCMD (TCC's OK).
    |> |--
    |> |- Vince
    |> |---End Quote---
    |> |
    |> |Did you try it without plugins?
    |>
    |> It's OK without my 4CONBUF plugin (which switches buffers on Shift-Fn).
    |> Is it
    |> that the key handler is slow or would any key handler cause a problem?
    |---End Quote---
    |If it's OK with TCC then you've probably got some undesirable interaction
    |going on with TCMD. Key handlers are normally pretty fast unless you're
    |doing an awful lot of crunching before returning the key.


    This, inside the key handler, was the problem:

    if ( QueryIsTCMD() ) // help in the status area
    return 0;
    // else check for key to dismiss help dlg (console)

    Would QueryIsTCMD() cause an undesirable inreraction?
    --
    - Vince
     
  12. Jim Cook

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a break during my business trip to try this and was not able to
    reproduce the problem. I am not using the console plugin.

    Sent from Cookie's iPhone
    Jim Cook

    On Oct 23, 2009, at 22:25, rconn <> wrote:


     
  13. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    It won't be harmful, but it'll definitely be slow. QueryIsTCMD creates a
    pipe, writes some data to it & waits for TCMD to read the data and respond.
    But TCMD only looks for the pipe every 30ms (for performance reasons), so
    it's not a very good idea to try to beat on it every keystroke.
     
  14. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    11
    Does TCC receive any notifications when a console is attached or detached
    from TCMD?

    Vince, I would guess that 99% of the time once someone starts a TCC
    session they either run stand-alone or within TCMD. The few times they
    detach the tab or attach could be addressed with a simple enhancement to
    your plugin.

    So, check whether attached or detached when the plugin is initialized and
    save that away. Then just assume that is the status each time your
    keystroke plugin runs.

    You could then have an update command that re-checks and modifies your
    saved status. You could even add it to one of the special post command
    aliases.

    -Scott

    rconn <> wrote on 10/24/2009 09:07:21 AM:


    respond.

    so

     
  15. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    TCMD does not send any notifications; however, TCC can quickly determine
    whether it's hidden or not; if it's not hidden it definitely is *not* in a
    tab window. (When it's detached it will be made visible.) The only
    possible confusion is if some other process is running a hidden TCC console
    app with plugins, which doesn't seem too likely.
     

Share This Page