1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Start TCMD.EXE with an alternate INI file

Discussion in 'Suggestions' started by HoylD, Jun 16, 2008.

  1. HoylD

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm trying to start TCMD.EXE with an alternate INI file. The reason for this is all my data is on an E drive and the EXEs on the C drive. The E drive gets backed up.

    Note: I've removed the TCMD.INI file from %LOCALAPPDATA% and put it in the folder E:\HoylD\TakeCommand\.

    In a windows shortcut I've tried the following target:

    "C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9\TCMD.EXE" /@"H:\Documents\TakeCommand\TCMD.INI"

    I've also tried from a CMD.EXE prompt:

    "C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9\TCMD.EXE" @"H:\Documents\TakeCommand\TCMD.INI"


    Since my INI points to a custom 4START.BTM file with a customised PROMPT I can tell straight way that the file has not loaded. On querying %_ININAME I always get back the %LOCALAPPDATA%\TCMD.INI even though it doesn't exists.

    If I replace TCMD.EXE with TCC.EXE everything works and the correct INI file is loaded.

    What am I missing?

    Ref: Windows XP SP2, NTFS Partitions, TCMD version 9.02.129.

    regards
    Dave.
     
  2. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    HoylD wrote:
    | Hi,
    |
    | I'm trying to start TCMD.EXE with an alternate INI file. The reason
    | for this is all my data is on an E drive and the EXEs on the C drive.
    | The E drive gets backed up.
    |
    | Note: I've removed the TCMD.INI file from %LOCALAPPDATA% and put it
    | in the folder E:\HoylD\TakeCommand\.
    |
    | In a windows shortcut I've tried the following target:
    |
    | "C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9\TCMD.EXE"
    | /@"H:\Documents\TakeCommand\TCMD.INI"
    |
    | I've also tried from a CMD.EXE prompt:
    |
    | "C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9\TCMD.EXE"
    | @"H:\Documents\TakeCommand\TCMD.INI"
    |
    |
    | Since my INI points to a custom 4START.BTM file with a customised
    | PROMPT I can tell straight way that the file has not loaded. On
    | querying %_ININAME I always get back the %LOCALAPPDATA%\TCMD.INI even
    | though it doesn't exists.
    |
    | If I replace TCMD.EXE with TCC.EXE everything works and the correct
    | INI file is loaded.
    |
    | What am I missing?
    |
    | Ref: Windows XP SP2, NTFS Partitions, TCMD version 9.02.129.

    Above you mentioned E: as your drive, but the commands you list reference
    H:.

    The following dump (using TCC's SHORTCUT command) of my shortcut to start
    TCMD (not TCC) works as intended (verified by what program is run in which
    tab):

    Command=C:\JPSOFT\IZ\tcmd.exe
    Arguments=/@C:\JPSOFT\TC9REG.INI
    Directory=C:\JPSOFT
    Description=TCMD, penultimate build
    Link=C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop\JP TZ TC caZ.lnk
    Icon=C:\JPSOFT\IZ\tcmd.exe
    Offset=0
    Mode=3
    Hotkey=Ctrl-Alt-Z

    --
    HTH, Steve
     
  3. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    HoylD wrote:
    | I'm trying to start TCMD.EXE with an alternate INI file. The reason
    | for this is all my data is on an E drive and the EXEs on the C drive.
    | The E drive gets backed up.

    Sorry, though I already answered to the substance, but you posted in the
    wrong NG. You should have been in the TC Support group
    (tc_support@jpsoft.com by email).
    --
    Steve
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,994
    Likes Received:
    84
    HoylD wrote:


    There are two different programs (TCMD.EXE and TCC.EXE) loading the
    TCMD.INI file. Your example above only tells TCMD to load the custom
    file; any TCC tab windows are still going to be loading the default
    TCMD.INI. (%_ininame is a TCC variable and reflects TCC's .INI file,
    not TCMD's.)

    You can specify the .INI file to use for TCC in a startup tab, or a
    toolbar button.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. HoylD

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    Rex,

    Thank you thank what I was missing the COMSPEC bit. Sorry for posting the the wrong area it was a mistake.

    regards
    Dave.
     

Share This Page