1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where is JpSoft.com?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Glennbo51, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. Glennbo51

    Glennbo51 Guest

    Where is JPSoft?
     
  2. Joe Caverly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    6
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    AFAIK, same place it's always been. (I'm on it now.)

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,783
    Likes Received:
    29
    I cannot resolve "www.jpsoft.com" from home or from work (different name servers) or even by going up the dns server trail. Consequently, I can't reach it (by normal means) with a browser. To get here now I had to scour Google and find an IP address, then put that address in my HOSTS file.

    I wouldn't be surprised if there are many others who can't reach www.jpsoft.com.
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    Apparently our registrar decided to switch DNS name servers this morning (but didn't think it was worth mentioning to their customers). If you still can't see it in a few hours (give it a chance to propagate), let me know.
     
  6. Joe Caverly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    6
    Guess that's why I don't have problems reaching the site. I've had

    HTML:
    207.7.82.31  www.jpsoft.com
    in my hosts file for quite some time, along with seven other sites that seem to be "down" frequently. Have not had a problem since.

    Joe
     
  7. Glennbo51

    Glennbo51 Guest

    It has been a couple of hours and the only way I could get in is to put the entry that Joe Caverly had in his hosts file in mine. That is fine as long as you IP address never changes. But if it does that won't work.
     
  8. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,783
    Likes Received:
    29
    I can look it up now (7:50 P.M. EDT) on the RoadRunner servers but not yet on the Syracuse University servers.
     
  9. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    ---- Original Message ----
    From: vefatica
    To: ESFabian@zenge.org
    Sent: Saturday, 2011. February 19. 19:50
    Subject: RE: [Support-t-2615] Re: Where is JpSoft.com?

    | Quote:
    | Originally Posted by GlennBo51
    | It has been a couple of hours and the only way I could get in is to
    | put the entry that Joe Caverly had in his hosts file in mine. That is
    | fine as long as you IP address never changes. But if it does that
    | won't work.
    |
    | I can look it up now (7:50 P.M. EDT) on the RoadRunner servers but
    | not yet on the Syracuse University servers.

    It is 20:23 EDT and I had no problem accessing the website using the bookmark saved years ago in Firefox (and it is not in my hosts file). However, accessing it with the default "text size" setting the home page showed different lines of text overlapping one another. Reducing font size cleared up the issue, until I made the text very small. The issues is caused by the "Take Command v12" product name bar, which is non-scaling graphics, while the rest of the text is scaled while anchored to a position which is not independent of the location of the graphics.
     
  10. Jim Cook

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works now from Sammamish (near Seattle), WA at UTC 2011-02-20 01:16:29,
    local 2011-02-19 17:16:29

    On Sat, Feb 19, 2011 at 16:50, vefatica <> wrote:




    --
    Jim Cook
    2010 Mondays: 4/4, 6/6, 8/8, 10/10, 12/12 and 5/9, 9/5, 7/11, 11/7.
    Next year they're Tuesday.
     
  11. Glennbo51

    Glennbo51 Guest

    On 02/20/2011 03:08, Jim Cook wrote:

    Something is still fouled up from COX.NET land. "Check for updates"
    doesn't work. http://jpsoft.com will not resolve. I know this is
    probably G..D... COX.NET Nuy it is damn annoying
     
  12. Glennbo51

    Glennbo51 Guest

    On 02/20/2011 03:08, Jim Cook wrote:

    this used to work until yesterday.

    jps
    TCC: (Sys) The requested name is valid, but no data of the requested
    type was found.
    "jpsoft.com"

    $ ali jps
    iftp "ftp://jpsoft.com"

    My ISP is COX
     
  13. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,726
    Likes Received:
    80
    I just lowered the TTL on the name servers; let me know if you still don't
    see it by noon.
     

Share This Page