Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Question About Commands Executed from XHISTORY

Jun
When a command that was originally executed from a directory different from the current one is executed from the XHISTORY popup window, is it executed from the now-current directory or from the then-current directory? If not the latter, it would be good if there were an option to do that.

OK. I'll have to think about whether it would be a good thing. The case that comes to mind is a command such as "edit file". If one wanted to execute it again to edit that same file, one would have to be in the original directory. Perhaps the answer would be to provide a button to change to the directory of the currently highlighted command line (while not exiting the dialog window). Then one could use ENTER to execute the command.

I'm just beginning to think about the possibilities offered by this new feature.

In any case, the documentation could be explicit that the command line is rerun in the now-current directory, even if it is not the one from which the command was originally run.

I think it would be better (and less apt to cause unexpected side effects and confusion) to have an option to (re)execute the command by switching to the saved CWD, executing the command, then reverting to the current directory.

I agree. What I suggested in the Suggestions Forum is buttons in the popup that do various things. One button would just change to the directory of the highlighted command. Another button might do what you suggest: push to that directory, run the command, and pop back to the original directory.

I'm still trying to get my head around this new feature and how it can be used effectively. Sometimes it might be used simply to see and understand something that one did in the past.