1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie here, I have a question.

Discussion in 'Support' started by BenRush, Mar 1, 2015.

  1. BenRush

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm new to the forum but not to JPSoft products. I date back to NDOS/4DOS and the old CompuServe Support Forum. I stayed a t Take Command version 8.02.92 for a long time and I have many, many .btm files that take advantage of the features of that version. I finally purchased an upgrade to V16 6 or 7 months ago, but I did not get around to installing it until a few days ago (actually to V17).
    Here's my newbie question: v8 to v17 is a big jump. What reading do I need to do understand what, if anything, might break my existing batch files? I'm willing to do the reading, but if anyone can direct me to FAQ listings or search terms for past thread topics where this has been discussed, I'd appreciate it.
     
  2. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,307
    Likes Received:
    39
    I think the most significant change recently is that the %= and %+ have been removed. If you change the command separator or escape characters, you must use the new characters, rather than referring to them symbolically. (If you pick obscure replacement characters, I think this means that your batch file must be saved as UTF-16.)
     
  3. BenRush

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. For reasons I don't even remember anymore (probably because that's the way it was way back when), I've always swapped ^ and &. So my command separator is ^ and escape is &.
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,959
    Likes Received:
    30
    I remember when the default escape character was Ctrl-X.
     
  5. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can use SETDOS to set the command separator and escape char to your own defaults.... and best place would be in your TCStart.btm file...
     

Share This Page