Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Using the Help in Version 30

Jun
I'm trying to adjust to the radical difference between HELP in version 30 and HELP in the version I've been using for several years (27). I have several questions:
  1. Is there documentation for the new system somewhere?
  2. When following successive links to topics, is there a way to go back to the previous topic? (The "Previous" and "Next" buttons do not do that.)
  3. I really miss the "favorites" settings that allowed one to quickly access the most often needed topics. Is there a way to do that with the new system?

When following successive links to topics, is there a way to go back to the previous topic? (The "Previous" and "Next" buttons do not do that.)

I think you want the < and > buttons on the title bar. Not the « and » buttons on the ribbon.

This was discussed back in August of 2021

Joe

I really miss the "favorites" settings that allowed one to quickly access the most often needed topics. Is there a way to do that with the new system?

It doesn't look like eWriter supports a bookmarks function. Or rather, it doesn't support bookmarks in the viewer. The authoring software does support bookmarks. This sounds like an excellent feature request for the Help+Manual people.

I know it's really not the same thing, but you can create aliases for help pages you visit often:
Code:
alias whatsnew=`help whats-new-in-version-%@int[%_4ver]`

alias whatsnew=`whats-new-in-version-%@int[%_4ver]`
Am I missing something? That seems pretty useless (without HELP and @ALIAS). How about

Code:
alias whatsnew `help whats-new-in-version-%@int[%_4ver]`

Have you got any advice for finding the names of things that can be used with the HELP command? Charles, where did you get that name (above)?

Am I missing something? That seems pretty useless (without HELP and @ALIAS). How about

Code: