1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fixed Option Dialog Hangs when Using Help

Discussion in 'Support' started by Phileosophos, Apr 25, 2014.

  1. Phileosophos

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    I found a problem in the latest version of Take Command. Here are the steps to reproduce it:
    1. Open TakeCommand
    2. Execute the "option" command at the prompt
    3. Click the Help button
    4. Close the resulting help file
    The option dialog will now say that it's not responding. The application has to be closed forcibly and restarted. Here's my version information in case it helps:

    TCC 16.01.46 x64 Windows 8.1 [Version 6.3.9600]
    TCC Build 46 Windows 8.1 Build 9600 ​

    Is there a workaround or a fix for this? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    39
    I can recreate this -- in Windows 7 x64, and in Windows XP x86. Sometimes it takes a couple of OPTION / Help cycles before the Option dialog hangs.

    It only seems to happen when TCC is running in Take Command, not when running in a standalone console window.
     
  3. Phileosophos

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Interesting. It happens for me every time. Maybe that's a Windows 8.1 thing.
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,022
    Likes Received:
    84
    Broken by a Windows update. I'll see if I can kludge around it pending a fix from Microsoft.

    There's a couple of workarounds:

    1) Run the configuration dialog from the TCMD Options menu instead of from the command line.
    2) Use the web help instead of the local html help.
     
  5. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,058
    Likes Received:
    30
    I can reproduce it on one Win7/32 machine and not on another. When it happens, things are pretty screwed up. The "Close the program" dialog doesn't kill TCMD (must do it with TaskManager). Sometimes, after saying "Close the program" in that dialog, TCMD disappears and the OPTION dialog remains.
     
  6. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    39
    Aaaaand it's back. I'm seeing this behavior on three different machines. Two of which are not running XP.

    Take Command has not been updated, so I guess it must be Windows.
     
  7. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    You mean "broken windows?"
     
  8. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    39
    Just a pane in the glass.
     

Share This Page