1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 7 copying and Take Command

Discussion in 'Support' started by CWBillow, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. CWBillow

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running Windows 7 b7000.

    As part of my backup, using a batch file I copy all the files from my "C" drive to a backup disk. But there's some typwe of translation that seems to take place, because folders that were / are part of my "All Users" Start Menu - "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs" -- don't end up there on the backup drive -- or so it seems to me. It seems that they end up at "I:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs".

    I understand the backward compatibility plan of Windows 7, but I didn't think that included physically moving files to the "old location."

    I'm using TC 9.02. Is that the issue maybe? I wouldn't think so, but ...

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
     
  2. dbartt

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    No translation but an artifact of the way Windows 7 and Vista store the
    "Documents and Settings" folder. It's a junction to "Users" so your copy is
    creating a real "Documents and Settings" folder by following the junction rather
    than just creating a junction. Try using the /nj option on your copy to ignore
    junctions. I don't know if copy will still create the junction entry without
    actually following and copying the tree.

    Dennis
     
  3. CWBillow

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    But it will still copy the original data? So I don't have to check every folder to make sure it's copied??

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
     
  4. dbartt

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't tested it but it should copy the actual original data. I'm not sure
    about copying of the "Documents and Settings" junction.
     
  5. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    dbartt wrote:
    | ---Quote---
    || But it will still copy the original data? So I don't have to check
    || every folder to make sure it's copied??
    | ---End Quote---
    | I haven't tested it but it should copy the actual original data. I'm
    | not sure about copying of the "Documents and Settings" junction.

    I use
    *copy/[!DESCRIPT.ION]/a:-d/fhjkuvxz/nejt/s/md c:\ d:\
    to back up my primary drive to another drive. It copies all files, but does
    not copy trees starting at a junction. Files which have "hard links" (i.e.,
    file bodies cataloged under multiple directory entries) are copied under
    each directory entry. I use WinXP, on which attribute changes made for one
    directory entry are not immediately updated for the other directory entries
    of hard linked files, using /X/A:A to prevent making multiple copies of the
    file body does NOT work. All physical files in the source tree are copied.
    IIRC Vista allows directories to have be hard linked also; this may result
    in whole trees duplicated...

    Making a record of junctions on the backup device may be useful; you can do
    it with a command like this:
    pdir/s/a:j/(fpnq @junction[*]) c:\

    Another useful, but very time-consuming process is to make a file to allow
    recreating file hard links.
    --
    HTH, Steve
     
  6. CWBillow

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Steve / Dennis,

    Thanks guys. I'll try to see if I can get some of this to work.

    Regards,
    Chuck
     

Share This Page