How to Suppress "Removing Directory" Messages

Sep 14, 2010
2
0
#1
I recently upgraded from Take Command v9 to v11 (Build 52). I notice there's a new behavior that creates a problem for me.

I have several batch files that delete all files and directories within a subdirectory. The delete statements uses the /T flag to suppress the listing of individual FILES being deleted. In v9, this also resulted in the suppression of the listing of individual DIRECTORIES being deleted. However, in v11, a line appears for every directory deleted regardless of the flag. Hundreds of "removing <directory name>" lines appear in my console window, hiding information I need to see or forcing it to scroll off beyond the end of my scrollback buffer.

In v11, how do I suppress the listing of each individual DIRECTORY that gets deleted?

My full delete statement is:

del /e /k /s /t /x /y /z <subdirectory name>

Thanks.
 

Charles Dye

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 20, 2008
3,724
47
Albuquerque, NM
prospero.unm.edu
#2
<directory name="">In v11, how do I suppress the listing of each individual DIRECTORY that gets deleted?
<subdirectory name="">
/Q will suppress the "Removing" lines. (It will also suppress the final summary. If you want to see the summary but not the subdirectories removed, I think you'll need to filter the output through FIND or similar.)

</subdirectory></directory>
 
#3
<directory name="">

In v11, how do I suppress the listing of each individual DIRECTORY that gets deleted?

My full delete statement is:

del /e /k /s /t /x /y /z <subdirectory name="">

Thanks.
I would use </subdirectory></directory>
Code:
del /e /k /s /t /x /y /z > nul
<directory name=""><subdirectory name=""> after the command to not see any console output. If, in your case, you want to see certain output, this would not be a solution for you.

Joe

</subdirectory></directory>