1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TCC v10 finding its own icon?

Discussion in 'Support' started by vefatica, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,785
    Likes Received:
    29
    If TCC v10 is started in a directory other than its home on the disk, it doesn't seem to find its own icon and starts with the default console icon. Examples of this are (SHELLEX is a plugin wrapper for ShellExecuteEx()):

    1. from a PowerPro button with startup dir equal v:\
    2. from a TCC prompt: v:\> START [/dv:\] d:\tcmd10\tcc.exe
    3. from a TCC prompt: v:\> SHELLEX d:\tcmd10\tcc.exe "" v:\

    If it starts in its home, it displays its own icon. Examples are:

    1. from a PowerPro button with startup dir equal d:\tcmd10
    2. from a TCC prompt: v:\> START /dd:\tcmd10 d:\tcmd10\tcc.exe
    3. from a TCC prompt: v:\> SHELLEX d:\tcmd10\tcc.exe "" d:\tcmd10
     
  2. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    80
    vefatica wrote:

    > disk, it doesn't seem to find its own icon and starts with the
    > default console icon. Examples of this are (SHELLEX is a
    > plugin wrapper for ShellExecuteEx()):

    Nothing to do with v10 or TCC; that's normal (albeit undesirable)
    Windows behavior. (It also happens with v9, v8, v7, etc.)

    (It's impossible for TCC to fail to find its own icon, as it's embedded
    in TCC.EXE.)

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,785
    Likes Received:
    29
    I've gone years without seeing 4NT/TCC fail to start with its own icon. And for at least 10 years I've had a PowerPro button that started 4NT/TCC in v:\ (not where it lives). And my shell extension 4NTHere.dll (which uses CreateProcess()) always got it right. Doesn't TCC actively set the console icon?
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,730
    Likes Received:
    80
    vefatica wrote:

    TCC sets its icon to the icon embedded in TCC.EXE. The path is never
    referenced and is irrelevant (except to Windows, which screws it up).

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  5. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,785
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Sun, 18 Jan 2009 21:06:51 -0600, rconn <> wrote:


    Are you saying TCC v10 calls SetConsoleIcon() with a valid handle to its
    embedded icon? I have never seen that fail. And I would expect that by the
    time TCC gets to do that, Windows is finished with its icon monkey-business.

    What do you use for a debugger? I've used WinDbg (debugging tools for Windows)
    and never got familiar with DevEnv's debugger (now I have VS2008). What would
    you recommend?
     

Share This Page