1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

v12 Release Build test - 32-bit fixed

Discussion in 'Support' started by rconn, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    81
    I've uploaded a fixed build (for the IsLicense50.dll mismatch) for the 32-bit TCMD to:

    ftp://jpsoft.com/beta/tcmd.exe

    This is still build 30, so if you installed the previous build 30 you'll need to uninstall it first before running this version.

    Let me know how it works.
     
  2. Joe Caverly

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    6
    Installed TCMD12 with no problems.

    Code:
    TCC  12.00.30   Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    TCC Build 30   Windows XP Build 2600  Service Pack 3
    
    As an added bonus, TCMD11 still works.

    Joe
     
  3. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,792
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Mon, 25 Oct 2010 09:33:40 -0400, rconn <> wrote:

    |I've uploaded a fixed build (for the IsLicense50.dll mismatch) for the 32-bit TCMD to:
    |
    | ftp://jpsoft.com/beta/tcmd.exe
    |
    |This is still build 30, so if you installed the previous build 30 you'll need to uninstall it first before running this version.
    |
    |Let me know how it works.

    All's OK here now. I tried the bad version twice. The second attempt resulted
    in a "repair". If this newest one is again buold 30, why no "repair" option
    when I ran the installer? ... would have been easier than uninstalling.
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    81
    Ask Microsoft -- the Windows Installer doesn't allow that.
     
  5. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    ---- Original Message ----
    From: Joe Caverly
    To: ESFabian@comcast.net
    Sent: Monday, October 25, 2010 09.58
    Subject: RE: [Support-t-2362] Re: v12 Release Build test - 32-bit fixed

    | Quote:
    | Originally Posted by rconn
    | Let me know how it works.
    |
    | Installed TCMD12 with no problems.
    |
    |
    | Code:
    | TCC 12.00.30 Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    | TCC Build 30 Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3As an added
    | bonus, TMCD11 still works.

    Likewise, no problems. Installed on both desktop and laptop WinXP SP3 (32b). All versions from V6 on still work properly.
    --
    Steve
     
  6. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2010-10-25 15:33, rconn wrote:

    This one installs fine on 32-bit Windows, and registration also goes OK.
     
  7. samintz

    samintz Scott Mintz

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    11
    I ran into an odd install inssue. While build 30 installed and runs fine,
    it took a really long time to actually install. Normally, it's a very
    fast installation. I thought maybe there was an issue with installing it
    via Remote Desktop Connection so I also installed it on my Win7 PC at
    home. My home PC did not yet have a TC12 install on it. And while it did
    not take as long as my work PC, it still took a lot longer than previous
    installs.

    -Scott

    rconn <> wrote on 10/25/2010 09:33:37 AM:


     
  8. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    81
    Not reproducible here; and nothing has changed in the installer for several weeks.

    However, if you haven't installed & registered the COM dll IsLicense50.dll previously, it'll take Windows a little while to do that (but only the first time).
     
  9. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    WinXP sp3 32 bit.
    Installed v 12. It said upon installation that it had to update files
    for v 11. I let it do so. Now v12 works as expected but I cannot start
    v11 without it saying I've expired.

    Is this supposed to happen this way?



    On 10/25/2010 09:33 AM, rconn wrote:

     
  10. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    81
    No, and I cannot reproduce it here (nor has anybody else reported that). V12 has *no* files in common with v11, and Windows Installer shouldn't be trying to update anything in v11. (There certainly isn't anything in the TCMD install script for that.)

    I'd have to know the exact sequence of TCMD installations you've done in the last few days to make a guess as to what Windows is doing.
     
  11. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    That's much easier to determine than you'd think. I've been testing
    v-12 in a vmware workstation 7.1.2 setup that I've kept fairly bare. I
    haven't even installed firefox or chrome. But it is a fully patched sp3
    that started as WinXP sp2. And I've reverted the vm to the point before
    this happened. I installed an earlier v-12, maybe build 20 or so a few
    weeks ago, then I confirmed that build 29 crapped out with the
    registration time-out. Others have also reported that their tcmd v-11
    is altered by v-12; I'm not the only one here. Some have said they had
    to do a repair installation to get their v-11 working. Others have said
    they had to fully remove tcmd.

    And then I installed build 30. I have not started this VM a lot in the
    last few weeks, either.

    SO OTHERS HAVE REPORTED SOMETHING SIMILAR TO WHAT I'M SEEING.

    Don't dismiss this as "cannot reproduce it here (nor has anybody else
    reported that)."

    WRONG! WRONG! WRONG!

    On 10/25/2010 07:39 PM, rconn wrote:

     
  12. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    81
    That's not relevant to the current build -- builds 29 and earlier used the same (registered COM dll) IsLicense40.dll that was used in v11, so if you uninstalled one version it would break the other. Builds 30 and later do *not* use this dll, so, as I said, there are NO files in common between v11 and v12.

    Nobody else has reported anything similar to what you're seeing with build 30; in fact others have confirmed that v11 and v12 no longer have any interaction, and nobody else has had any problems with 12.0.30 (other than the initial upload had an x64 dll inadvertently included in the x86 build -- this was corrected in the subsequent upload).
     
  13. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    Sorry. I get it.

    Are you interested in working w/ a VM?



    On 10/25/2010 09:34 PM, rconn wrote:

     
  14. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    81
    Yes -- all of my development and testing is done in VMs (HyperV, VMware, VMware Fusion, and Virtual PC).

    It's unclear from your previous message whether you're having a problem with the VM or simply with installation / configuration.
     
  15. drrob106

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installation . The VMWare machine is fine.

    Sent from my Droid Incredible Verizon Wireless phone

    ----- Reply message -----
    From: "rconn" <>
    Date: Tue, Oct 26, 2010 9:19 am
    Subject: [Support-t-2362] Re: v12 Release Build test - 32-bit fixed
    To: <rob@drrob1.com>

    ---Quote (Originally by drrob1)---
    Are you interested in working w/ a VM?
    ---End Quote---

    Yes -- all of my development and testing is done in VMs (HyperV, VMware, VMware Fusion, and Virtual PC).

    It's unclear from your previous message whether you're having a problem with the VM or simply with installation / configuration.
     
  16. Speedie6

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like V12 is released? There is no beta on the FTP site, and the tcmd download is version 12. I've owned almost every version of 4DOS/4NT/TCC since like 4DOS 2.0 or something like that. But, I skipped version 11. So, I'm going to get 12, if I still get upgrade pricing.
     
  17. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    81
    It's not yet released. There will be an announcement when everything is in place, hopefully later today or early tomorrow.

    You can upgrade from any previous version for the same price.
     
  18. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    I think I have a theory as to why I had a problem. The version to tcmd
    v12 I have installed still uses license40. When I installed build 30 on
    top of what I had, it had to try to remove license40 before it put its
    own license50 in. When it removed license40 my installed v11 was unhappy.

    I was the first to report this because I have not been very diligent in
    installing new builds as you released them, so I still had the old
    license40 installed for v12 while others had not.

    Comments?
     
  19. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,792
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Tue, 26 Oct 2010 19:05:11 -0400, drrob1 <> wrote:

    |I think I have a theory as to why I had a problem. The version to tcmd
    |v12 I have installed still uses license40. When I installed build 30 on
    |top of what I had, it had to try to remove license40 before it put its
    |own license50 in. When it removed license40 my installed v11 was unhappy.
    |
    |I was the first to report this because I have not been very diligent in
    |installing new builds as you released them, so I still had the old
    |license40 installed for v12 while others had not.

    Where was that IsLicense40.dll located? I doubt v12 would try to delete it from
    the v11 installation directory.
     
  20. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2010-10-27 04:59, vefatica wrote:

    It won't matter, as there can be only one instance of IsLicense40.dll
    registered in the registry. The uninstaller for build 29 unregisters
    it, rendering the licensing component inoperative.

    E.g. doing regsvr32 "<tcmd11installdir>\IsLicense40.dll" should always
    fix any problems afterwards.
     
  21. drrob1

    drrob1 Guest

    I did a repair install that fixed it.



    On 10/27/2010 03:43 AM, dim wrote:

     
  22. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,792
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Wed, 27 Oct 2010 03:43:10 -0400, dim <> wrote:

    |---Quote---
    |> Where was that IsLicense40.dll located? I doubt v12 would try to delete it from
    |> the v11 installation directory.
    |---End Quote---
    |It won't matter, as there can be only one instance of IsLicense40.dll
    |registered in the registry. The uninstaller for build 29 unregisters
    |it, rendering the licensing component inoperative.

    It didn't do that here. My installation of v11 never faltered.
     
  23. cgunhouse

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Rex,

    There is one thing that I noticed and that is that V12 load slower that V11. I think it may have to do with network connected drives.

    Craig
     
  24. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,792
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Wed, 27 Oct 2010 10:41:38 -0400, cgunhouse <> wrote:

    |Hi Rex,
    |
    |There is one thing that I noticed and that is that V12 load slower that V11. I think it may have to do with network connected drives.
    |
    |Craig

    What's slower? I haven't noticed anything.
     
  25. cgunhouse

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    2
    When connecting for the first time before any information is cached, I noticed that the connection was a bit slower. I have tried it again after I registered V12 and it was much fast, but the network drive stuff is also now cached. The reason I said network drives is because I watched TCMD.EXE load in Process Monitor from Sysinternals and the delay was during the network connections. Of course there are other issues that maybe factors like network traffic but I never notice such delays from version 9 and up.

    Craig
     
  26. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    81
    V11. I

    Are you referring to the first-time startup (which would be expected), or
    subsequent starts (which should be slightly faster than v11)?

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  27. ron

    ron

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's like prior versions then the startup time is dependant on whether you have any drives that are asleep. TC queries (and waits for replies) from all drives in the system. If some are asleep, you have to wait for them to spin up. I gave up waiting for a solution so I just load TC on boot and try to never exit.

    http://jpsoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=627
     
  28. cgunhouse

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    2
    It is on start up, but one of my network drives was unavailable and it seemed that V11 recovered faster than V12. V12 took 30 seconds to recover from the unavailable drive.
     
  29. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,732
    Likes Received:
    81
    Nothing changed in TCMD there; that's strictly up to Windows.
     
  30. ron

    ron

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm still perplexed that TC has to wait for all drives in the system to respond before it starts. Is there a specific reason for this or is it the result of some library you're using that you have no control over?

    If it was displaying free space for every drive in the task bar, I'd understand.

    There's so much in TC. Maybe there are some internal variables that get initialized that require all drives to be queried.
     

Share This Page