1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to? Identify 64-bit and 32-bit TCC sessions...

Discussion in 'Support' started by mathewsdw, Oct 3, 2012.

  1. mathewsdw

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    First, I have a 64-bit machine, and I generally run TCC in 64-bit mode. However, as I'm sure everyone knows, most plugins only run in 32-bit TCC sessions, so if I want/need the services of many plugins I have to run 32-bit TCC sessions. Second, I have things set up so that the PID of every TCC session appears in its title bar. Now I'd like to do something similar for the mode - have something in the title bar that indicates whether a given TCC session is in 64- or 32-bit mode. Is there any way to achieve this goal?
     
  2. thedave

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    2
    You could use TITLEPROMPT and include %_64 somewhere (or wrap it in a @IF if you want friendlier output)
     
  3. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,277
    Likes Received:
    38
    Should that be %_X64 ?
     
  4. mathewsdw

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Dave, that's exactly what I was looking for. Searching documentation is kind of a problem for me because of my partial blindness.
     
  5. mathewsdw

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    0
    And Charles, you are, of course correct. Thank you for not making me dig around for a long time trying to figure out why it wasn't working.
     
  6. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    Rex:
    This is more a very far forward looking suggestion. Maybe the relevant variable's name should be _registersize (it really ought to be "_wordsize", as "word" is defined in the standards as the largest unit of a single storage access, but MS defined it long ago as 16b, and larger units have special names, like dword, lword, etc.). The value should be the number of bits in integer arithmetic registers. This name would never have to change when 128-bit or 256-b registers become available (not that more than 0.1% of all programs could be improved by such large register sizes).
     
  7. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,729
    Likes Received:
    80
    The "%_x64" internal variable simply identifies that you're running the x64 version Take Command. It doesn't have anything to do with the CPU register size.
     
  8. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sorry, my mistake.
     

Share This Page