1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

64-bit command line apps invisible in TCC

Discussion in 'Support' started by Ville, May 12, 2010.

  1. Ville

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm now using Windows 7 Ultimate x64. TC/TCC is working well, except for one oddity: the 64-bit xxcopy is invisible from TCC while it works (and can be seen) just fine from cmd.exe. So...

    TCC:
    Code:
    [C:\] [14:56]# dir c:\windows\system32\xx*
    
     Volume in drive C is Core           Serial number is d836:7f40
    TCC: (Sys) The system cannot find the file specified.
     "C:\windows\system32\xx*"
                     0 bytes in 0 files and 0 dirs
        71,437,238,272 bytes free
    
    cmd.exe:
    Code:
    C:\>dir c:\windows\system32\xx*
     Volume in drive C is Core
     Volume Serial Number is D836-7F40
    
     Directory of c:\windows\system32
    
    13-Mar-10  03:04           651,824 XX3040.EXE
    07-Apr-10  03:05           146,936 XXCONSOLE.EXE
    07-Apr-10  03:05           911,751 XXCOPY.CHM
    07-Apr-10  03:05           658,992 XXCOPY.EXE
    12-Oct-04  01:24               320 XXCOPY.LIC
    07-Apr-10  03:05           658,992 XXCOPYSU.EXE
    07-Apr-10  03:05            93,184 XXPBAR64.EXE
                   7 File(s)      3,121,999 bytes
                   0 Dir(s)  71,437,238,272 bytes free
    
    C:\>
    
    Is this normal/expected functionality, something that arises from the differences between the 32 and 64-bit apps? Is there any way to access xxcopy from TCC? Unfortunately it seems 32-bit xxcopy can't be installed on a 64-bit system.

    Thanks!
     
  2. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2010-05-12 22:01, Ville wrote:

    This is caused by the so-called WOW64 redirection feature of 64-bit Windows. See http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa384187%28VS.85%29.aspx for more info.

    Try using the 64-bit version of TC/TCC, or if you must use the 32-bit version, uncheck "Win64 File System Redirection" on the Startup tab of the OPTION dialog.
     
  3. Ville

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! I switched to x64 version of Take Command... I hadn't realized it was available.
     

Share This Page