1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4console plugin

Discussion in 'Plugins' started by Frank, Mar 9, 2012.

  1. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi,

    I have a little problem with the 4console plugin:
    Code:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\JPSoft\TCMD >ver /r
     
    TCC  13.04.52  Windows 7 [Version 6.1.7601]
    TCC Build 52  Windows 7 Build 7601  Service Pack 1
    Registered to
     
    C:\Program Files (x86)\JPSoft\TCMD >plugin /i
    Module:      \\aaaaaa\xxxxxx\!admin\bin\4console.DLL
    Name:        4CONSOLE
    Author:      Vincent Fatica
    Email:      moc.rr.yncwt@snigulp
    Web:
    Description: Various console-related utilities
    Implements:  _ALTENTER,_BUFROWS,_BUFCOLS,_BUFX,_BUFY,_CURCHAR,_CURSOR,_FGCO
    OSE,@BOOL,@BUFCHAR,@FONTH,@FONTW,@ICONS,ALTENTER,CFIND,CONHELP,CONSIZE,CSBF
     
    Version:    6.6  Build 6
     
    C:\Program Files (x86)\JPSoft\TCMD >consize /q
    Window (screen coords)
     
            Console:        1548 x 1099
            Client:        1520 x 1068
            Left,top:        277 , 38
            right,bottom:  1825 , 1137
            Font size:        8 x 12
     
    Console (chars)
     
            Window:          190 x 89
            Buffer:          190 x 9999
            Max console:    239 x 84
            Max w/scroll:    237 x 82
     
    C:\Program Files (x86)\JPSoft\TCMD >consize /w 180 70 /b 180 9999 /p 200 70
    TCC: (Sys) Falscher Parameter.
    
    "Falscher Parameter" means "wrong parameter" ;-)

    Could be the reason that the window is already pretty big sized and cannot be shrinked?
     
  2. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    I don't know what's happening. I can't reproduce it (I can only go to 1280 x 1024). Anyone else ... ?
     
  3. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have a similar issue - when the /w parameters specify a window size that will not fit, it just reports "wrong parameter" without indicating which parameter is wrong and why, and does nothing. If I specify a window size that will not fit my preference would be to set the window as big as possible without an error message, but setting an exit code to represent the error. By selecting codes for each possible parameter errors that are powers of 2 (i.e., separate bits for different errors) multiple errors could be reported (logical OR).
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,938
    Likes Received:
    30
    Like Rex, I don't make up the error codes and their text messages. If a Windows API function fails I call GetLastError() and then FormatMessage() and the text you see comes from Windows.

    As for determining the biggest console allowed ... well that's iffy. The GetLargestConsoleConsoleWindowSize() function is inaccurate as is (IIRC) CONSOLE_SCREEN_BUFFER_INFO::dwMaximumWindowSize. I've done my best to improve on them but apparently I haven't got it perfect. CONSIZE is very complicated and changing it without screwing it up is hard. When I have the time I'll try to make it better.

    I am more likely to have success (much quicker, too) if I implemented a MAXCON command using the info supplied by Windows but I'm not sure those who want the biggest console possible would be happy with it! Myself, I determined the biggest console by experiment and use a MAXCON alias.
     
  5. Frank

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    For me I bypass the problem by using CONSIZE only if the actual dimensions are 25x80.
    I assume that if they are different, then the user has already adjusted them manually according to his needs.
     

Share This Page