1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TCC: History window sizes; other config options

Discussion in 'Support' started by mikea, Apr 19, 2010.

  1. mikea

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    I keep trying to find the configuration option that controls the height of the directory history window. Which specific topic in the on-line help covers this subject? I keep finding topics about directory history but none seems to contain information about controlling the window height.

    Is there an option for this in the dialog that appears when you type OPTION at the command line? If so, which specific option is it?

    Why this came up: no matter how many directories I've been in during a given session, I see only two lines in the directory history window. I have to scroll the thing constantly -- it is not convenient. By contrast, the command-history window is a good deal taller than the directory-history window -- and I don't know yet how I managed to configure it that way; I'd like to replicate that for the directory history.

    What is the topic in the on-line help that lists every possible configuration option a person might find in TCMD.INI? I keep trying to find this in the help and not finding it. There must be such a topic. If memory serves, there was in the on-line help for 4NT. The on-line help does contain this:

    The TCMD.INI file has a number of sections. Each section is identified by the section name in square brackets on a line by itself. Take Command stores the user-defined options in [TakeCommand]; TCC stores its user-defined options in [4NT].

    Where in the on-line help is the discussion of all possible configuration options to be found in the [4NT] section?

    Thanks in advance...
     
  2. Charles Dye

    Charles Dye Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,311
    Likes Received:
    39
    The command history window and the directory history window both use the same directives: PopupWinHeight, PopupWinTop, PopupWinLeft, and PopupWinWidth. You shouldn't need to edit the .INI file, though; just open either one, drag it to the desired position and size, then hit Esc.

    (If you open a window and there aren't enough lines to fill it, it will be resized to fit the data. But as long as you don't resize or move the window, the smaller size won't be saved back to the .INI file ... I think.)
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,869
    Likes Received:
    83
    There is no option to control the height. Just drag the window taller, and
    TCMD / TCC will remember the new height.


    That part of the help was removed several years ago. The only documented
    and supported way to change configuration options is through the OPTION
    dialog.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  4. mikea

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried that. The size doesn't "stick."

    The problem is that it's being resized to hold less than the available data -- two or three lines, no matter how many are in the history.

    This is under Win 7. I have to upgrade my copies at home and then I'll see what happens under Win XP SP2...
     
  5. mikea

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    As noted in my previous reply, this isn't working. It isn't remembering the height.

    It looks to me as if there are a lot more options shown in that .INI file than there are selections in the dialog box. But am I mistaken about that?
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,869
    Likes Received:
    83
    There's only two possibilities if it isn't saving the height -- either you
    don't have enough entries in the window to fill the specified height (in
    which case the window will shrink to the number of existing lines), or your
    TCMD.INI is write-protected and TCC cannot update it. If you drag the
    window to a new position will it remember that?


    The only additional options are for TCMD, which are set in the TCMD
    configuration dialog, and some internal-only options that you should not
    touch.

    There are also some advanced directives documented in the help file, for use
    in debugging.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  7. mikea

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have ensured there are no write-protected TCMD.ini files on the system (and I removed the one that's in the application settings directory, to avoid any ambiguity -- now the only one is in the directory where TCC.exe resides).

    It does remember the position. The window height, when the window is opened, always defaults to something less than the number of entries, even when they don't exceed what I believe is the max. window height configured at the moment. IOW, the scroll bar is always displayed even when there's enough screen real-estate for the window to contain all stored path names in a single window. If there are only two or three path names in the history, only one of them is displayed and I have to scroll to get the other two.
     
  8. mikea

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is the expected behavior also that TCC should remember popup windows' positions (top/left) based on where they were last positioned -- remember these between TCC sessions?
     
  9. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,869
    Likes Received:
    83
    Yes.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  10. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,869
    Likes Received:
    83
    Send me your TCMD.INI file.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  11. ron

    ron

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe what I had to do was remove these entries that came over from my TC9 file.

    PopupWinHeight=12
    PopupWinTop=1
    PopupWinLeft=40
    PopupWinWidth=36

    Once I did that, it worked great. The new values are in pixels. For some reason, the entries above would not be overwritten by TC11. So no matter how many times I moved/sized the window, it would never remember it.
     
  12. mikea

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'll try that, thanks. If I'm still having trouble with it -- this to Rex -- I'll send the TCMD.ini file...

    One more thought -- this also to Rex: does an accurate 'save' of window positions/sizes, from one TCC session to the next, require running SHRALIAS first?


     
  13. mikea

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    That worked for me, and thanks again.

    The directory history window seems to retain its last screen position and width, but without updating the tcmd.ini file. It continues to resize itself for height to one line less than the number of available dir-history entries -- no matter how many there are.


     
  14. ron

    ron

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm. How many entries are in your directory history? What pop-up font are you using?

    I've not re-sized it before now but it does seem to grow the height to fit the contents. In my case, the 20 entries fit nicely with no scroll bar.
     
  15. mikea

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    At this moment, 15 entries. The window is 14 lines high. If I go to another directory and end up with 16 entries, the window will be 15 lines high. Font is Consolas. I've tried several sizes. Also tried Courier New and FixedSys. Same result -- there's always a scroll bar. This is under Win 7 Enterprise, if it matters.
     
  16. ron

    ron

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lost my Win7 Enterprise boot drive so I can't try it until I get that fixed.

    On my XP box I'm using Lucida Console/Regular/8.

    So you've tried making it taller - press escape - then when you bring it back up it snaps back to size - 1 with the scroll bar?
     
  17. mikea

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    2
    With these aging eyes, that'd be too small a point size for me. Next chance I get I'll at least try it to see if it makes any difference.

    Correct.
     

Share This Page