1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[TC 17.x] Install with "option /u" failed

Discussion in 'Support' started by Alpengreis, Dec 1, 2014.

  1. Alpengreis

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi,

    I tried two times (restore an image between) to install the update v17.00.61 within TCMD window (v17.00.59) with "option /u" - without success.

    This was the message:

    install-error tc.JPG

    Which means: "Error: Updateinstallation failed" & "Some updates could not be properly installed." (don't know the exact english text, it's "self-translated") ...

    Then I have downloaded manually the install-file and the update (with Revo Uninstaller Pro) was no problem.

    HTH & regards,

    Alpengreis

    PS: Win 7 Ultimate 64-bit (swiss-german)
     
  2. Jay Sage

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just updated to build 61 and got an error message stating that the update had failed. However, build 61 came up and seems to be running fine.
     
  3. Alpengreis

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thank you, Jay, for confirming.

    The question is (for me): is really all ok or it seems that way?

    And that leaves a bad feeling ...
     
  4. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,970
    Likes Received:
    30
    I had no problems.
    This has been going on for years, through several versions of TCMD. In the past, it would happen to me often and to nearly no one else. This time I've been lucky. I've been through all 60 builds of v17 with only one installer glitch. It has always been that way ... a few have a problem and most don't. In the past, I've hounded Rex about it and he always blamed the "flaky" Windows installer. I am a (reluctant) convert to that point of view.
     
  5. Jay Sage

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did not see any error message while updating to build 62.
     
  6. Alpengreis

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes, here too - no problem with build 62.
     

Share This Page