Purpose of DIRHISTORY /N option

The Help for DIRHISTORY says, "Because the directory history stores each name only once, ...". The /N option "Removes duplicate entries (oldest first) from the directory history list." What is the purpose of the /N option if the list stores each name only once?

TCC 26.02.43 x64 Windows 10 [Version 10.0.19041.630]
 
The Help gives an example of /R and right after that says, "Because the directory history stores each name only once, you don't have to delete its contents before reading back the file unless you want to delete the directories that were visited by the intervening commands." This would seem to imply that you don't need to do /N after doing /R.
 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
V Support 2
C Support 2
J Support 1
V Support 1
nikbackm Support 4