1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrade error

Discussion in 'Support' started by vefatica, Jan 25, 2014.

  1. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    8,058
    Likes Received:
    30
    Upgrading to build 40, after clicking "Next" on the installation directory page I got a message box ... caption "Error" ... message "The application ran into a problem it couldn't handle. Sorry for the inconvenience" ... details below. When I close the message box, the "Choose a file location" page still shows and is frozen (with hourglass) ... trying to "X" it brings back the message box ... Updater window is also dead, can't close it.
     
  2. oph

    oph

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I could install build 40, but the command dir (TCC and take command) sends blank lines to screen (one or more) between items. I returned to version 36, I use TCC near all the time and the double character is not a problem with TCC.

    OPH. 2014-01-25
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,022
    Likes Received:
    84
    The same Windows Installer bug you've been reporting for years. Try running it again.
     
  4. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,022
    Likes Received:
    84
    Not reproducible here. What version of Windows are you running? Are you seeing it both in tab windows and stand-alone TCC console windows? Are you running any plugins?

    The double input character fix was for Take Command only; it does not affect TCC, and it does not affect command output.

    Anybody else able to reproduce this with build 40?
     
  5. oph

    oph

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I reinstalled the build 39, it works, the problem I saw was with build 40, both in tab windows and stand-alone TCC console windows.

    TCC 16.00.39 x64 Windows 7 [Version 6.1.7601]
    TCC Build 39 Windows 7 Build 7601 Service Pack 1

    No plugins.

    I will reinstall build 40 to see if the problem continues.

    OPH. 2014-01-25
     
  6. oph

    oph

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I updated from build 39 to build 40, it runs OK now.

    As wky says, I put it in the "unexplainableonetimeerrors" folder ;-)

    OPH. 2014-01-25
     
  7. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,022
    Likes Received:
    84
    Build 39 and build 40 are identical; I changed the version number because 39 was a private test build and 40 is a public release build.
     
  8. Rod Savard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have occasionally seen that installer issue with various builds. Usually I re-run the installer and it works fine. I've never seen the issue with any other installers I've used on my system.
     
  9. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    JPSoft's installers are the only one's I've ever had any problems with, as well.....
     
  10. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    10,022
    Likes Received:
    84
    If you Google that error, you'll find thousands of other apps experiencing the same problem. The installer developers say they can't reproduce it (not surprising, since even the people who experience the error can rarely reproduce it on a subsequent attempt).
     
  11. Charles G

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe JPSoft's installers use a lot mor code hen the other installers and so there is more chance of things going wrong....

    Is there a way to determine where in the installer the error occurs?

    Can I log each install?
     

Share This Page