1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can I use TC to run Cygwin?

Discussion in 'Support' started by dserodio, Dec 18, 2008.

  1. dserodio

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can I use TC to run Cygwin in some tabs? I see there's a "Tabs" settings page, but how can I choose which shell I want to run in a new tab?
     
  2. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2008-12-18 21:41, dserodio wrote:

    Choose Tabs -> Run, you'll get the Run Program dialog. Fill in:

    %CYGWIN%\bin\bash.exe --login -i

    where %CYGWIN% is your Cygwin install dir. You'll get a tab with just the Cygwin bash shell running in it.
     
  3. dserodio

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the tip, can I create a shortcut for that?
     
  4. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
    dserodio wrote:
    | ---Quote (Originally by dim)---
    | On 2008-12-18 21:41, dserodio wrote:
    |
    |
    |
    | Choose Tabs -> Run, you'll get the Run Program dialog. Fill in:
    |
    | %CYGWIN%\bin\bash.exe --login -i
    |
    | where %CYGWIN% is your Cygwin install dir. You'll get a tab with
    | just the Cygwin bash shell running in it.
    | ---End Quote---
    | Thanks for the tip, can I create a shortcut for that?

    AFAIK the graphical tabbing shell TC itself does not have shortcuts.
    However, it has the TAB BAR, where you can put a tab button do this. Read
    the topic "toolbardlg.htm".
    --
    HTH, Steve
     
  5. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,859
    Likes Received:
    83
    dserodio wrote:

    > "Tabs" settings page, but how can I choose which shell I want
    > to run in a new tab?

    You can use one of the Cygwin shells (bash or ksh) in a startup tab by
    entering the name in the Command field for the desired tab (on the Take
    Command Options / Tabs page).

    You can also define a toolbar button to start a shell in a tab window.

    And you can create a shortcut to start a shell in a tab with the Take
    Command /T startup option.

    See the help for more details.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     

Share This Page