1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toolbar configuration anomaly

Discussion in 'Support' started by Péter Köves, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. Péter Köves

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    11.29 allows command buttons (e.g., Exit, Check for Updates, etc) to be dropped onto the Tabbed Toolbar using Customize... These buttons are added following the regular buttons in the given tab. They work fine in the current TCMD session, however they are not retained after exit and restart of TCMD (even if Save to .INI is issued---not that I expected this to change anything). When right clicked, an empty Tool Bar Button dialogue comes up. Should I then fill in the dialogue and click OK, TCMD crashes (surprise, surprise!) with:
    Code:
    TCMD  11.00.29
    Module=C:\4NT\11\TakeCmd.dll
    Address=1005E114
    Exception=C0000005
    EAX=27750066  EBX=27750066  ECX=00000028  EDX=0057E478
    ESI=018401F0  EDI=00B7F820  EBP=00B7F7B8  ESP=00B672F8
    CS=0000001B  DS=00000023  ES=00000023  SS=00000023
    Flags=00010206
    
    Stack:
    1 : TakeCmd.dll 0001:0005d114
    2 : USER32.dll 0001:00007734
    3 : USER32.dll 0001:00012ce4
    4 : USER32.dll 0001:00012b30
    5 : USER32.dll 0001:00012d5c
    6 : USER32.dll 0001:00007734
    7 : USER32.dll 0001:00007816
    8 : USER32.dll 0001:00019013
     
  2. Péter Köves

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the other hand, I discovered in v10---and this also works in v11---that Customize... allows buttons to be added to the menubar. This is a great feature as it saves the need to create a separate toolbar that takes up space. Should you decide to do something about the anomaly in the OP, please, please don't "fix" away this capability of being able to add buttons to the menubar.
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,804
    Likes Received:
    82
    The menu bar and the explorer toolbar both support the "Customize" menu
    option (see the help). The tabbed toolbar does not (and it is not listed in
    the Customize menu). I presume you must be trying to drag & drop to the
    tabbed toolbar; I will turn off drag & drop support for the tabbed toolbar
    to prevent excessively adventurous users from breaking it.
     
  4. Péter Köves

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Correct. I won't miss being able to add command buttons to the tabbed toolbar. I just happend to try it and discovered the problems. Your proposed remedy makes perfect sense to me.
     
  5. TimButterfield

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    1
    Adding on to the toolbar configuration thread...

    I put TCMD v11 on a production system and then uninstalled v10. Due to the mostly wasted space of the tab area on my single set of toolbar buttons, I turned it off. Unlike the explorer toolbar or the command input, folder, or list views, it refuses to stay turned off. Every time I restart TCMD, the toolbar comes back. Do I have to delete all of the button definitions to keep it from coming back?

    Tim
     
  6. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,804
    Likes Received:
    82
    The toolbar is going to be restored from the values saved in TCMD.INI at
    startup. If you don't want it, or only want it sometimes, remove it from
    TCMD.INI. You can always load it with "TCTOOLBAR /R ..." later.
     

Share This Page