Installer questions/gripes

  • This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.
#1
  • On the "Select Folder" tab there is drop-down containing previous destinations. The first always seems to be the "default" location in Program Files. But I never want to install there. Is there a way to have the last installed location show up instead?
  • On the create shortcut entries page I always uncheck all the checkboxes. Could this be remembered for later installations?
  • In any case a shortcut is always installed into to top-level of All Programs ... I don't like this, and always have to delete it manually. Can anything be done about this?
 

rconn

Administrator
Staff member
May 14, 2008
10,101
85
#2
> * On the "Select Folder" tab there is drop-down containing previous
> destinations. The first always seems to be the "default" location in
> Program Files. But I *never* want to install there. Is there a way to
> have the last installed location show up instead?
Only if you want to overwrite the previous installation. If you select
side-by-side, there's no way for the installer to guess where you want to
install.


> * On the create shortcut entries page I always uncheck all the
> checkboxes. Could this be remembered for later installations?
No.


> * In any case a shortcut is always installed into to top-level of All
> Programs ... I don't like this, and always have to delete it manually.
> Can anything be done about this?
No.

These are all Windows Installer issues, not TCMD or the TCMD installer.
I've asked Microsoft about all of them previously, but there are currently
no workarounds.
 

Charles Dye

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 20, 2008
3,385
39
Albuquerque, NM
prospero.unm.edu
#3
  • On the create shortcut entries page I always uncheck all the checkboxes. Could this be remembered for later installations?
  • In any case a shortcut is always installed into to top-level of All Programs ... I don't like this, and always have to delete it manually. Can anything be done about this?
DEL commands in TCStart.btm....