1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

location of .ini file

Discussion in 'Support' started by rayandrews, May 15, 2010.

  1. rayandrews

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I read it, the help on location of the .ini file says that it should either live with tcmd.exe (on my system that's "c:\Program Files\JPSoft\tcmd11\")
    or in a directory specified by the "/@" switch on the startup line or where "%localappdata%" points to.That's mostly as I remember it from 4DOS. My startup line as shown in 'properties' of the "TC" desktop icon, contains no switch, and "%localappdata%" is not set. I find my .ini file is in fact in "c:\Documents and Settings\...\Application Data\JPSoft\".

    Did I miss something?
     
  2. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    | As I read it, the help on location of the .ini file says that it
    | should either live with tcmd.exe (on my system that's "c:\Program
    | Files\JPSoft\tcmd11\") or in a directory specified by the "/@"
    | switch on the startup line or where "%localappdata%" points to.
    | That's mostly as I remember it from 4DOS. My startup line as
    | shown in 'properties' of the "TC" desktop icon, contains no
    | switch, and "%localappdata%" is not set. I find my .ini file is in
    | fact in "c:\Documents and Settings\...\Application Data\JPSoft\".
    |
    | Did I miss something?

    I presume your OS in WinXP, because that variable is not explicitly set by
    the OS in WinXP, only in Vista or Win7. There is an oversight in the HELP
    file on this issue relating to WinXP, where the OS does not define
    LOCALAPPDATA. A more appropriate description would be:

    The initialization file is selected in the manner below:

    1/ if starting TCC.EXE and either the /I or the /II option is set, NO
    initialization file is used, else

    2/ if explicitly specified in the command line (using the @ character), that
    file is used, else

    3/ if %@path[%_cmdspec]\TCMD.INI exists, that file is used, else

    4/ if %@shfolder[28]\TCMD.INI exists, that file is used, else

    5/ NO initialization file is used.

    --
    HTH, Steve
     
  3. rayandrews

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Steve, yes, I'm using XP so that explains the discrepancy.
    But I can't find either of those environment settings you mention,
    however there is %appdata% which points to "\Application Data" which is about as close as anything in the environment is at getting close to "\JPSoft" ... so that must be it. Anyway, I want to move it into the "\TCMD11" folder where it belongs, I'll see how it goes.
     
  4. If 2/ is used below - why does echo @_ININAME return %localappdata%\Jpsoft and not the path of the file specified in command line?
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: Steve Fábián
    To: CSGalloway@nc.rr.com
    Sent: Saturday, May 15, 2010 02:26 PM
    Subject: RE: [Support-t-1971] location of .ini file


    | As I read it, the help on location of the .ini file says that it
    | should either live with tcmd.exe (on my system that's "c:\Program
    | Files\JPSoft\tcmd11\") or in a directory specified by the "/@"
    | switch on the startup line or where "%localappdata%" points to.
    | That's mostly as I remember it from 4DOS. My startup line as
    | shown in 'properties' of the "TC" desktop icon, contains no
    | switch, and "%localappdata%" is not set. I find my .ini file is in
    | fact in "c:\Documents and Settings\...\Application Data\JPSoft\".
    |
    | Did I miss something?

    I presume your OS in WinXP, because that variable is not explicitly set by
    the OS in WinXP, only in Vista or Win7. There is an oversight in the HELP
    file on this issue relating to WinXP, where the OS does not define
    LOCALAPPDATA. A more appropriate description would be:

    The initialization file is selected in the manner below:

    1/ if starting TCC.EXE and either the /I or the /II option is set, NO
    initialization file is used, else

    2/ if explicitly specified in the command line (using the @ character), that
    file is used, else

    3/ if %@path[%_cmdspec]\TCMD.INI exists, that file is used, else

    4/ if %@shfolder[28]\TCMD.INI exists, that file is used, else

    5/ NO initialization file is used.

    --
    HTH, Steve
     
  5. START > Run then entered:

    "C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD11\tcmd.exe" /@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v11.ini

    inside TCMD 11:

    echo %_ININAME
    %localappdata%\JPSoft\TCMD.INI

    Just not sure why it doesn't return "D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v11.ini"
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: Charles (RR) Galloway
    To:
    Sent: Saturday, May 15, 2010 11:08 PM
    Subject: Re: [Support-t-1971] location of .ini file


    If 2/ is used below - why does echo @_ININAME return %localappdata%\Jpsoft and not the path of the file specified in command line?
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: Steve Fábián
    To: CSGalloway@nc.rr.com
    Sent: Saturday, May 15, 2010 02:26 PM
    Subject: RE: [Support-t-1971] location of .ini file


    | As I read it, the help on location of the .ini file says that it
    | should either live with tcmd.exe (on my system that's "c:\Program
    | Files\JPSoft\tcmd11\") or in a directory specified by the "/@"
    | switch on the startup line or where "%localappdata%" points to.
    | That's mostly as I remember it from 4DOS. My startup line as
    | shown in 'properties' of the "TC" desktop icon, contains no
    | switch, and "%localappdata%" is not set. I find my .ini file is in
    | fact in "c:\Documents and Settings\...\Application Data\JPSoft\".
    |
    | Did I miss something?

    I presume your OS in WinXP, because that variable is not explicitly set by
    the OS in WinXP, only in Vista or Win7. There is an oversight in the HELP
    file on this issue relating to WinXP, where the OS does not define
    LOCALAPPDATA. A more appropriate description would be:

    The initialization file is selected in the manner below:

    1/ if starting TCC.EXE and either the /I or the /II option is set, NO
    initialization file is used, else

    2/ if explicitly specified in the command line (using the @ character), that
    file is used, else

    3/ if %@path[%_cmdspec]\TCMD.INI exists, that file is used, else

    4/ if %@shfolder[28]\TCMD.INI exists, that file is used, else

    5/ NO initialization file is used.

    --
    HTH, Steve
     
  6. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,789
    Likes Received:
    29
    If you're specifying an INI file for TCMD (with @) it won't necessarily be the INI file for TCC; in fact it probably won't be. If that's what's happening, you'll have to take a closer look at how TCMD starts TCC (perhaps specifying an INI file in the tab's config, or in TCMD's "COMSPEC" (don't know if that can be done)).

    _ININAME gives TCC's INI file.
     
  7. rayandrews

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had no luck using the "@" method in the 'properties > target' of the TC icon on the desktop -- Windows bitched at me that it wasn't valid. But, I just moved tcmd.ini from where it was under '\Documents and Settings\ ...' and all is well, and tcmd.ini is being used by both Take Command and TCC, because the file changes if either of the above is altered with the 'OPtions' window.

    Now, I'd like to delete the '\Documents and Settings\ ... \JPSoft' folder because there's nothing in it, but Windows won't let me. But that's only a small anoyance.
     
  8. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    1
    Those aren't environment settings. They are TCC variable functions. Type "echo %@path[%_cmdspec]" and "echo %@shfolder[28]" at the TCC command line and see what you get.
     
  9. rayandrews

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks David, all is clear. '@shfolder[28]' points to that path under 'Documents and Settings'. But can it be changed/removed? Or will that folder be used for something important even though it's empty right now?
     
  10. David Marcus

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    1
    I assume TC or TCC will recreate the JPSoft folder if they need it for something. I'm running Vista and the only things in mine are Batch.bcp (from 2008) and TCMD.ini.
     
  11. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,731
    Likes Received:
    80
    That's where Microsoft has mandated that all third-party configuration files
    will be located. It cannot be changed or removed.

    Rex Conn
    JP Software
     
  12. rayandrews

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rex,

    That makes sense, but as long as I can put my .ini where I want it, I'll just ignore that other path. Windows is always full of empty folders anyway. It would be nice to have a doc explaining all that -- assuming there isn't one already.

    Some early impressions:

    - TC GUI is almost as good as Explorer, maybe better, but I miss the 'Back' button and 'Search'. The way one alternates between the command window and the folders/list window is cool but takes a bit of getting used to -- but that can't be helped.

    - GUI style editing of .INI options is well done.

    - Documentation is near perfect, just like I remember from 4DOS
     
  13. dim

    dim Dimitry Andric

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    On 2010-05-16 16:25, rayandrews wrote:

    That folder is most likely not empty, but you may possibly have the "Hide operating system files" option on in Explorer, which hides the subfolders.

    See <http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb762494%28v=VS.85%29.aspx> for an overview of the 'special' folders (which can be retrieved by the %@shfolder[] function in TCC). That overview is valid for XP, for Vista and later <http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd378457%28v=VS.85%29.aspx> should be used instead.
     
  14. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,523
    Likes Received:
    4
    | Hello and happy July 4th Weekend
    |
    | anyway - I still can't figure out the INI file location
    |
    | ========= begin paste
    |
    | Take Command 8.02.106 Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    | Copyright 1988-2007 Rex Conn & JP Software Inc. All Rights Reserved
    | Registered to Charles S. Galloway - 5 System License
    |
    |
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]echo %_ININAME
    | D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v8.ini
    |
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]list c:\Batch\UpdateLinks.btm
    |
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]shortcut "%USERPROFILE%\Application
    | Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\Take Command
    | 8.02.lnk"
    | Command=C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD8\tcmd.exe
    | Arguments=/@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v8.ini
    | Directory=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\
    | Description=Execute Take Command v8.02.106
    | Link=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\Application
    | Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\Take Command 8.02.lnk
    | IconOffset=0
    | Mode=1
    | Hotkey
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]ver /r
    |
    | Take Command 8.02.106 Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    | Take Command Build 106 Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3
    | Registered to Charles S. Galloway - 5 System License
    |
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]
    | ========= end paste
    |
    | That works wonderfully, even echo %_ININAME returns what I beieve is
    | the correct location in my case. But how do I set up TCMD (the
    | shell) to use a custom TCMD_v9.ini in D:\TakeCommand\INIs\ and have
    | TCC (the 4NT replacement) use TCC_v9.ini in D:\TakeCommand\INIs\ ?
    |
    | Once I figure out how to do v9 then I assume 10 thru the current one
    | will not be any differnt except the version number.

    I presume you want to set up:

    1/ A desktop or quick launch shortcut to start the GUI (explorer-like)
    TCMD.EXE (V9) with a specific TCMD_v9.ini, which in turn opens a
    TTC.EXE (V9) tab using the specific TCC_V9.ini. The shortcut file
    below would do the first part:

    Command=C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD8\tcmd.exe
    Arguments=/@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v9.ini
    Directory=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\
    Description=Start Take Command v9.02.157
    Link=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\Application
    Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\TCMD 9.02.157.lnk
    IconOffset=0
    Mode=1
    Hotkey
    Once you have done that, you open TCMD, and use its pull-down menu
    option to set up your tabs. In one of the tabs you put the command
    line

    C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD9\tcc.exe /@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v9.ini

    2/ Another shortcut to start TCC.EXE v9 with the specific TCC_V9.ini.

    Command=C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD9\tcc.exe
    Arguments=/@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCC_v9.ini
    Directory=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\
    Description=Start TCC v9.02.157
    Link=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\Application
    Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\TCC 9.02.157.lnk
    IconOffset=0
    Mode=1
    Hotkey

    Note: I operate in WinXP. I have shortcuts for different versions of
    TCC and TCMD on the user desktop, most of which have a hotkey,
    allowing me to start the particular version from the keyboard. All of
    my hotkeys use alt-ctrl-shift as modifiers, since I have never come
    across any program that uses all three of the modifiers. BTW, hotkeys
    to TCC instances also restore a current instance started with the
    hotkey instead of starting an additional instance (except on rare
    occasion), even if the instance was running in "full screen" mode.
    --
    HTH, Steve
     
  15. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,789
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Sat, 03 Jul 2010 17:05:29 -0400, Steve Fábián
    <> wrote:

    |I presume you want to set up:
    |
    |1/ A desktop or quick launch shortcut to start the GUI (explorer-like)
    |TCMD.EXE (V9) with a specific TCMD_v9.ini, which in turn opens a
    |TTC.EXE (V9) tab using the specific TCC_V9.ini. The shortcut file
    |below would do the first part:

    He can also put the @INIfile in TCMD's
    "Options\ConfigureTCMD\Tabs\COMSPEC". That way all TCC's will use the
    specified INI file automatically.
     
  16. 1) Can I combine the config options for both TCMD and TCC in the same file?

    2) What happens if the file doesn't exist, as for using OPTION or the menus?

    3) I did shortcut as you said:

    Command=C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD9\tcmd.exe
    Arguments=/@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v9.ini
    Directory=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\
    Description=Execute Take Command v9.02.157
    Link=Take Command 9.02.lnk
    IconOffset=0
    Mode=1
    Hotkey
    then opened the link, then Options, Configure Take Command, selected Complete Hidden Files, then Apply then OK. typed EXIT at the TCC prompt to close TCMD/TCC. then opened the shortcut again and the Complete hidden files was NOT selected. checked for any TCMD_v9.ini on either C or D and none were located. Not sure what is going on.
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: Steve Fábián
    To: CSGalloway@nc.rr.com
    Sent: Saturday, July 03, 2010 05:05 PM
    Subject: RE: [Support-t-1971] Re: location of .ini file


    | Hello and happy July 4th Weekend
    |
    | anyway - I still can't figure out the INI file location
    |
    | ========= begin paste
    |
    | Take Command 8.02.106 Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    | Copyright 1988-2007 Rex Conn & JP Software Inc. All Rights Reserved
    | Registered to Charles S. Galloway - 5 System License
    |
    |
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]echo %_ININAME
    | D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v8.ini
    |
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]list c:\Batch\UpdateLinks.btm
    |
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]shortcut "%USERPROFILE%\Application
    | Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\Take Command
    | 8.02.lnk"
    | Command=C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD8\tcmd.exe
    | Arguments=/@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v8.ini
    | Directory=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\
    | Description=Execute Take Command v8.02.106
    | Link=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\Application
    | Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\Take Command 8.02.lnk
    | IconOffset=0
    | Mode=1
    | Hotkey
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]ver /r
    |
    | Take Command 8.02.106 Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    | Take Command Build 106 Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3
    | Registered to Charles S. Galloway - 5 System License
    |
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]
    | ========= end paste
    |
    | That works wonderfully, even echo %_ININAME returns what I beieve is
    | the correct location in my case. But how do I set up TCMD (the
    | shell) to use a custom TCMD_v9.ini in D:\TakeCommand\INIs\ and have
    | TCC (the 4NT replacement) use TCC_v9.ini in D:\TakeCommand\INIs\ ?
    |
    | Once I figure out how to do v9 then I assume 10 thru the current one
    | will not be any differnt except the version number.

    I presume you want to set up:

    1/ A desktop or quick launch shortcut to start the GUI (explorer-like)
    TCMD.EXE (V9) with a specific TCMD_v9.ini, which in turn opens a
    TTC.EXE (V9) tab using the specific TCC_V9.ini. The shortcut file
    below would do the first part:

    Command=C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD8\tcmd.exe
    Arguments=/@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v9.ini
    Directory=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\
    Description=Start Take Command v9.02.157
    Link=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\Application
    Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\TCMD 9.02.157.lnk
    IconOffset=0
    Mode=1
    Hotkey
    Once you have done that, you open TCMD, and use its pull-down menu
    option to set up your tabs. In one of the tabs you put the command
    line

    C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD9\tcc.exe /@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v9.ini

    2/ Another shortcut to start TCC.EXE v9 with the specific TCC_V9.ini.

    Command=C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD9\tcc.exe
    Arguments=/@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCC_v9.ini
    Directory=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\
    Description=Start TCC v9.02.157
    Link=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\Application
    Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\TCC 9.02.157.lnk
    IconOffset=0
    Mode=1
    Hotkey

    Note: I operate in WinXP. I have shortcuts for different versions of
    TCC and TCMD on the user desktop, most of which have a hotkey,
    allowing me to start the particular version from the keyboard. All of
    my hotkeys use alt-ctrl-shift as modifiers, since I have never come
    across any program that uses all three of the modifiers. BTW, hotkeys
    to TCC instances also restore a current instance started with the
    hotkey instead of starting an additional instance (except on rare
    occasion), even if the instance was running in "full screen" mode.
    --
    HTH, Steve
     
  17. Re: location of .ini file (and TreePath)

    2nd followup:

    Out of curosity I created an empty TCMD_v9.ini and TCC_v9.ini, both in D:\Takecommand\INIs\, and then entered the

    C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD9\tcc.exe /@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v9.ini

    in one tab and changed the tab title to be TCC-1 to see if it would work. Once I started TCMD using the shortcut below and changing a few config items using the menus, exiting TCC then starting it again - it worked. At least when I did OPTION it showed what I had changed but not when I used the menu for Configure TCC. Why would it work with OPTION but not with Configure TCC ? Is it that I have a custom config file in a seperate location?

    One other thing I did notice. I have the TreePath in both v8 and v9 as D:\TakeCommand\IDX and it works in v8 but gives a "TCC: (Sys) Access is denied." error in v9. any ideas?
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: Steve Fábián
    To: CSGalloway@nc.rr.com
    Sent: Saturday, July 03, 2010 05:05 PM
    Subject: RE: [Support-t-1971] Re: location of .ini file


    | Hello and happy July 4th Weekend
    |
    | anyway - I still can't figure out the INI file location
    |
    | ========= begin paste
    |
    | Take Command 8.02.106 Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    | Copyright 1988-2007 Rex Conn & JP Software Inc. All Rights Reserved
    | Registered to Charles S. Galloway - 5 System License
    |
    |
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]echo %_ININAME
    | D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v8.ini
    |
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]list c:\Batch\UpdateLinks.btm
    |
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]shortcut "%USERPROFILE%\Application
    | Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\Take Command
    | 8.02.lnk"
    | Command=C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD8\tcmd.exe
    | Arguments=/@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v8.ini
    | Directory=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\
    | Description=Execute Take Command v8.02.106
    | Link=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\Application
    | Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\Take Command 8.02.lnk
    | IconOffset=0
    | Mode=1
    | Hotkey
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]ver /r
    |
    | Take Command 8.02.106 Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    | Take Command Build 106 Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3
    | Registered to Charles S. Galloway - 5 System License
    |
    | [C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD9]
    | ========= end paste
    |
    | That works wonderfully, even echo %_ININAME returns what I beieve is
    | the correct location in my case. But how do I set up TCMD (the
    | shell) to use a custom TCMD_v9.ini in D:\TakeCommand\INIs\ and have
    | TCC (the 4NT replacement) use TCC_v9.ini in D:\TakeCommand\INIs\ ?
    |
    | Once I figure out how to do v9 then I assume 10 thru the current one
    | will not be any differnt except the version number.

    I presume you want to set up:

    1/ A desktop or quick launch shortcut to start the GUI (explorer-like)
    TCMD.EXE (V9) with a specific TCMD_v9.ini, which in turn opens a
    TTC.EXE (V9) tab using the specific TCC_V9.ini. The shortcut file
    below would do the first part:

    Command=C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD8\tcmd.exe
    Arguments=/@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v9.ini
    Directory=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\
    Description=Start Take Command v9.02.157
    Link=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\Application
    Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\TCMD 9.02.157.lnk
    IconOffset=0
    Mode=1
    Hotkey
    Once you have done that, you open TCMD, and use its pull-down menu
    option to set up your tabs. In one of the tabs you put the command
    line

    C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD9\tcc.exe /@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCMD_v9.ini

    2/ Another shortcut to start TCC.EXE v9 with the specific TCC_V9.ini.

    Command=C:\PROGRA~1\JPSoft\TCMD9\tcc.exe
    Arguments=/@D:\TakeCommand\INIs\TCC_v9.ini
    Directory=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\
    Description=Start TCC v9.02.157
    Link=C:\Documents and Settings\Charles\Application
    Data\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Quick Launch\TCC 9.02.157.lnk
    IconOffset=0
    Mode=1
    Hotkey

    Note: I operate in WinXP. I have shortcuts for different versions of
    TCC and TCMD on the user desktop, most of which have a hotkey,
    allowing me to start the particular version from the keyboard. All of
    my hotkeys use alt-ctrl-shift as modifiers, since I have never come
    across any program that uses all three of the modifiers. BTW, hotkeys
    to TCC instances also restore a current instance started with the
    hotkey instead of starting an additional instance (except on rare
    occasion), even if the instance was running in "full screen" mode.
    --
    HTH, Steve
     
  18. vefatica

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,789
    Likes Received:
    29
    On Sun, 04 Jul 2010 20:39:23 -0400, CSGalloway@nc.rr.com
    <> wrote:

    |Why would it work with OPTION but not with Configure TCC ? Is it that I have a custom config file in a seperate location?

    "Configure TCC" is rather generic. You might have many TCCs running,
    each with a custom INI file. Which one would be configured? It would
    make sense if "Configure TCC" uses the INI file that TCMD was started
    with (since the default is for them to share a INI file.
     

Share This Page