1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TCMD.INI Issue

Discussion in 'Support' started by cgunhouse, Jan 15, 2014.

  1. cgunhouse

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    2
    Because I wasn't ready to move everything to version 16, I redefined my short cuts for version 16 to:

    "C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD16\tcmd.exe" @"C:\Documents and Settings\myusername\Local Settings\Application Data\JPSoft\16\TCMD.INI"

    I also created directories that mirror those for version 15 and they are:

    Startup-16
    Log-16
    Batches-16

    So where the TCMD.INI for version 15 said "Startup" the version 16 version would have "Startup-16" and similar with the other directories. But things didn't seem work the way I expected, for example, the "TCSTART/TCEXIT Path" in the version 16 was "C:\JPSoft\Startup-16" but the TCSTART.btm that actually runs is the one in "C:\JPSoft\Startup", the one from the version 15 TCMD.INI.
    Also, if I use the "Options" menu from TCMD-16, I can edit the version 16 TCMD.INI but if I type "option" at the command prompt, I am editting the version 15 TCMD.INI.

    Does TCC.EXE ignore the fact TCMD is pointing to a different TCMD.INI?

    Craig
     
    #1 cgunhouse, Jan 15, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2014
  2. cgunhouse

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    2
    Seems to ignore the redefined directories for "Logging" as well.
     
  3. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,869
    Likes Received:
    83
    There is no automatic connection between a TCMD.INI for TCMD and one for TCC. They might be the same, but there's no requirement that they be. And TCC can't tell what TCMD.INI file that TCMD is using.
     
  4. cgunhouse

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    2
    Then from what I can understnd TCC would use the default TCMD.INI (in my case the version 15 copy) locate in "C:\Documents and Settings\myusername\Local Settings\Application Data\JPSoft". Is there a way to point TCC.EXE to point to a different location?
     
  5. Steve Fabian

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,520
    Likes Received:
    4
  6. cgunhouse

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    2
    I used the command:

    "C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD16\tcmd.exe" @"C:\Documents and Settings\myusername\Local Settings\Application Data\JPSoft\16\TCMD.INI"

    and "C:\Documents and Settings\myusername\Local Settings\Application Data\JPSoft\16\TCMD.INI" has a TCSTART/TCEXIT directory of "C:\JPSoft\StartUp-16\" but what is actually being used is the default TCSTART/TCEXIT directory located at "C:\JPSoft\StartUp\". I could have left the command at "C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD16\tcmd.exe" because most of "C:\Documents and Settings\myusername\Local Settings\Application Data\JPSoft\16\TCMD.INI" is being ignored anyways.
     
  7. cgunhouse

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    2
    Moved TCMD.INI to C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD16 and changed the TCMD V16 shortcuts to:

    "C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD16\tcmd.exe" @"C:\Program Files\JPSoft\TCMD16\TCMD.INI"

    Seems to work now. I based this on HELP, it says for "TCC Startup options":

    This option sets the path and name of the .INI file. You don't need this option if
    1) your .INI file is named TCMD.INI, and
    2) it is in one of the following directories:
    2.1) the same directory as TCC
    2.2) the %localappdata% directory


    TCMD V16 look here because I am tell it to by the command line and TCC V16 looks there by default. TCMD V15 and TCC V15 continue to run as if V16 wasn't there.
     
  8. rconn

    rconn Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,869
    Likes Received:
    83
    It's not a very good idea to put TCMD.INI anywhere in "\program files", because in anything later than XP Windows won't let you modify TCMD.INI. (Unless you're always running an elevated session.)
     

Share This Page